We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was an odd one!”
Review of Sampan

Sampan
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We obviously caught Sampan on a difficult night for them

Let's start with the positive: the food was excellent - this is a really decent Indian restaurant. I've given them the benefit of the doubt and rated them on that.

However, they were woefully short-staffed, their cooler had broken so the Kingfisher lager wasn't properly chilled, and our visit coincided with a table of 12 foul-mouthed golfers who did their best to ruin the evening for the other guests.

That said, next time we're in the area we'll give Sampan another go.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whitingbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Genuinely nice staff, good service, really nice good! Nice presentation too. Had a very nice meal here, and very reasonably priced too.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank MeanOldUncleBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

good range of dishes at very reasonable prices . service was very good.window seats give a great view over the river.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This was a wonderful find. The service was excellent, explaining dishes new to us and advising on chilli strength of dishes. I had a curry hotter than my usual choices but could still taste the spices. Wonderful! We had a great meal in a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Phil28811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

OK so I love Indian food so always look for Indian restaurants. If you enjoy tandoori style food you will love this I recommend the mixed tandoori kebab to start and love the chicken dopiaza. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is a problem for them.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank journalister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sampan also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Sampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing