We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hood place to eat”
Review of Valkla Forell

Valkla Forell
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Valkla
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

Amazing atmosphere Very beautiful place Delicious food at very reasonable prices, you can also fish the trout on the spot and they prepare on the grill,Two dishes including sangria thirty euro

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank amirisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2021

We didn’t want to catch a fish so we ate the trout from the menu. Big mistake. It was totally overcooked and cold but it came after 5 minutes probably because they had cooked it the day before. Also the onion rings were only dough the fried Camembert was also cold and the garlic bred without a trace of garlic. I guess they do their core business well which is to let you catch a trout and cook it for you but that is not a reason to cook all the rest so badly.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 352frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Good service and good tomato. No trout though. Bread was delicious. They even had a dry wine! Would recommend. High quality restaurant!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Taivo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Went there with our kids (age: 10 and 8). Tried catching our own trout with 5 fishing rods.
Sadly we were not succesful, but next to us a russian macho caught beautiful 3 trouts in a row in like 5 minutes - with only one rod.
Anyway, we had great fun trying to catch the fish, and when we gave up, we ordered one caught and cooked. It was truly amazing, smoked and partly cooked with mayo and with salsa. I'm not really a fish-eating kind of guy, but we ate everything up and really enjoyed it.
We had a perfect day :)

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Although it is a simple looking place, their smoked trout is awesome. Best smoked trout I ever had. In fact I do not know if they have anything else on the menu. You either fish yourself from the river, or if you are lazy like I am, you ask them to catch a trout for you. They cultivate the trout there in the river and there is a lot of it, so it will take max 5 minutes to catch one. The taste is something really special, they smoke your fish with special wood (I don't know which one), salt it and serve. It is really good. For side dishes you can order fries, potatoes and salad. Simple, tasty and nice! Highly recommended for an afternoon trip.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank RobinL2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Been to Valkla Forell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.