We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch with a view over the sea”
Review of Ruhe Restoran

Ruhe Restoran
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Neeme
Price range: US$3 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant Ruhe, opened in August 2013, is located a 30-minute drive away from Tallinn. The seaside fish restaurant offers dishes made from only the freshest fish and seafood. In preparing the dishes, both pure flavours as well as old fishermen's tradition are held in high regard. The healthiness of the dishes is not forgotten either. A ruhe is a fishing boat carved from a tree trunk. It is also German for 'tranquillity' - this word characterises the feeling you get admiring the beautiful view of the sea at Ruhe. Families with children, adventurers on the seas as well as others romantics are welcome at Ruhe. Larger events can be held by prior agreement.
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

We came here for late lunch. It is recommended to book the table! We were greeted by lovely staff. The food was so delicious (so eyecatching that I forgot to take pictures of all the dishes ) and recommended champagne really tasty! The restaurant has nice views to the sea. On sunny and warm days you can enjoy the terrace. Perfect place to organize birthdays or weddings etc.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank leilanilisannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2021

We had been thinking about coming here for quite some time and finally did it yesterday. It was roughly a 40 minute drive from Tallinn. The end result is a lovely looking place view quite a view no matter if you're outside or inside the restaurant. The only downside is probably lack of umbrellas outside, so you should think twice if it's sunny and hot. Unfortunately, that's the smallest problem.

First of all, there is no menu for kids. Luckily, we were offered some pasta which we ordered and...they simply forgot about it. More than 1 hour later we left with a starving child who had to eat some bread and shrimps from one of our dishes. I don't find it being acceptable. Not even close. And if you're thinking that we could have asked about it - good luck catching someone from the staff.

The food is average mostly too. We tried padron peppers and these were nice. It's a rare dish in Estonia for some reason, but we always take those when in Spain. Crispy cauliflower was the best dish we had there. Tasty and crispy indeed. Taco with seafood wasn't really a taco - more like a cake. It was OK, but would have been much better if the sauce wasn't that sweet. Pil-pil shrimps weren't hot at all, but in general they were OK. Lobster roll was a real letdown. To me at least. Not much lobster and not enough taste. Seafood soup was good.

When it comes to drinks, we tried 3 proper cocktails and 1 non-alcoholic fluid - all 4 were good. We would have tried more but no one during our 1,5 hour visit offered anything even once - even when they saw that my glass was empty. Which brings me to the biggest drawback - service.

Lack of service is a local tradition in Estonia. In Ruhe it lead to forgetting about pasta for our child, not offering any additional drinks and clearly not having any workflows. We had 3 different people coming to our table, so there is either no system at all or there is this kind of "open" approach which some IT companies had before (and failed miserably). When everyone thinks that it's not his/her job in the end of the day.

Will we come back? Maybe in a couple of years and if the whole menu changes. It's not worth spending time to drive here if all there is as the view and nice interior. I was actually struggling between 2 and 3 stars (2,5 would have been ideal) since it's a restaurant after all and we should rate the actual food first and then the service. Food is 3. Service is a solid 1. Interior and view are both 5. With some good hires this place can easily get 4 out of 5, but until then - 3 is the absolute maximum I can give.

Can't say that our anniversary was ruined, but we should have picked pretty-much any decent restaurant in Tallinn. Hungry daughter would agree.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 3apa3ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

More than 30 minutes we didn't even get menu, though we even asked. At the 20th minute we even asked for menu and we got as an answer "yes sure". At abut the 35th minute we still didn't even get the menu, though newly arrived guests were getting it, so we were therefore forced to leave. All waiters just passed by all the time and they didn't notice we were just waiting and we were missing menu all the time.
Therefore for us the "food" was really insipid and tasteless. Tasting like nothing or like eating air.
Who will pay us back the time that we lost there? And the gasoline to reach the restaurant? We had then to go to another restaurant where we found amazing food and very welcoming caring smiling personnel.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roam784781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 August 2020 via mobile

We had great night with our family on the terrace of La Bottega restaurant. Great service and delicious food. Definately going back there.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank bluffme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2020

Beautiful restaurant 40min from Tallinn. Excellent food , lovely place. Especially tomato soup with seafood was good.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank jiihaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Ruhe Restoran also viewed

Been to Ruhe Restoran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.