We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
159
168
66
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
168
66
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self service coach trip steep steps grand uk isle of man coach party sea view meal times national holidays evening meal tiny lift buffet style recommend this hotel sea front victorian hotel three courses good size
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for the tt practice week. This hotel is very convenient that's its literally one street up and a 15 min walk to the grand stand. The beds weren't the most comfortable either. They have the same breakfast every day. I only stayed 5 days and I was so tired of it already. The staff was very nice. Wifi is pretty bad. Heard one of the staff members tell someone that it wasn't their fault the wifi didn't work. I kinda beg to differ. I would stay here again since it's such a close walk to the grand stand but hope they update their beds. Also no AC. You get a fan.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Preciosakitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for choosing the Rutland in your recent visit. Firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see there were aspects of your trip you did not enjoy. The hotel does not have bedroom A.C. but as the Isle of Man climate is generally so moderate this is very rarely an issue. We have looked into the complimentary guest Wi Fi and found all to be in order, so perhaps this was due to the additional user demand during the TT event, as such we will consider adding additional access points / router in future years. We are always working on improving our hotel and services as such, may we thank you for your helpful feedback. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We recently stayed at this hotel. We weren't impressed as soon as we walked & hobbled into reception. (10 steps from the promenade pavement - 9 up then 1 down into the hotel)
We were given our room number which was numbered 3**, on the third floor. The lift only took 3 persons, or less if you had your cases aswell. When proceeding up the stairs, on the first landing, there was no mention of rooms higher than the 1**, so finding our room was a nightmare, as it was like a rabbit warren, with corridors going off in all directions.
When we finally found our room, we had climbed 48 steps on rickety old stairs that did not allow people to pass, so if it was busy (like arriving or departing) then it was a slow process.
We asked for a lower room, but was told that they were full, so rooms were available (apparently there was 64 rooms). Finally we were given another room, still on the third floor, with 45 steps to go up & down from. Then this room had two giant stains on the carpet, which they covered up with bath towels
From our room, we had an air-conditioning noise that seemed to be on all day & night, but when we queried it, were told only from 6.00am to 8.00pm
The staff were helpful though.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear valued guest, we are really sorry to see there are aspects of your trip you did not enjoy and whilst we are somewhat confused at to the number of bedroom corridor steps you refer to, we will look into this!. We are always working on improving what we do and hope to see you again at the Rutland. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Stayed there 5 days, staff were great and very helpful. Room service, food all great, would go back again. Well organised, luggage taken to the room while we had evening meal a little late as we had just come off the ferry, staff were up early so we could have a 6.30am breakfast so we could check in for the 8am check in for our returning boat.
suggest making the entrance steps a little more amenable for disabled access with complete grab rails from top to bottom.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear valued guest. Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We will make sure to pass your kind regards to our staff. We thoroughly look forward to hosting you in the future! All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Had no idea what to expect really when having to book and pay 10 months out for 1 of last 3 hotel rooms in Douglas for practice week of TT. Reviews were mixed, case of taking what was left! But i needn't have been concerned, this was great! We had a lovely and large corner room, 4 Windows that all opened, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. The staff were mostly East European, very pleasant, friendly and helpful. And were very gracious and nice when having to deal with some downright rude and demanding guests. Why do some people bother to travel, honestly it's embarrassing observing how awful tourists can be. Anyway breakfast was great too. Might not be a 4 star place but it's more than satisfactory, and such a great atmosphere too with the TT stuff going on.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwiflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Spent 5 glorious days on the Isle of Man in May. Of course the weather was wonderful which always makes a holiday. Our hotel, The Rutland, was minutes from the ferry port right on the sea front in Douglas. The staff were excellent extremely accommodating especially as one of us is gluten free which can be a problem. Only point of note 9 steep steps to the front door and only a tiny lift; on the plus side they carried the luggage up to the rooms and brought them down for us. We travelled with PC coaches of Lincoln, excellent service and great driver/tour manager. The Island is a revelation outstanding scenery, beautiful villages and of course the TT races. There is a lovely 19th century steam railway to Port Erin and an electric train up to the summit of Snaefel the highest point on the island. Loads of Celtic and Norse history to discover with a brilliant museum in Peel detailing the history and development of the island to present day. Isle of Man; a must visit destination!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindymd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews