We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Claremont Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
205
140
60
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
140
60
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat rail journeyscoast restaurantsea viewisle of manferry terminalbrick walllovely hotela la carte menufive nightssea frontbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotellittle toucheslong weekendcentral locationreception areahorse drawn tram
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Surprisingly nice hotel on the seaside and very conveniently located in center of Douglas. Rooms are very spacious and well appointed, comfortable beds and gigantic bathrooms. Staff was very nice during the stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Lanoka_Harbor_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

As with many traditional coastal resort hotels, internally each floor is a a bit warren-like i.e. up and down stairs and landings to access rooms, however that is where the similarity with your usual promenade hotel ends - the lobby, reception, restaurants, and more importantly, the rooms themselves, have been transformed into the most wonderful boutique hotel. The bedroom was one of the most comfortable, stylish rooms I have ever stayed in, with audio & video (and in built blu-ray) entertainment suites across the large bedroom and equally large & wonderfully appointed bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Manager at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Guest,

May we sincerely thank you for taking time to review the Claremont.

We aspire to provide the level of service, comfort and facilities your feedback reflects, so we are naturally delighted to read your very kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Claremont in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mark Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

The staff were friendly and helpful, and they carry this hotel.

At some point the ground floor has been redesigned. The Reception tries so hard to look unlike a Reception that I didn't initially realise it was. The informal seating area downstairs has square chairs arranged in squares. The chairs have arms as high as the backs so it's all very angular. And not being cuboid myself, I didn't find them comfortable.

My room was ok in size (given that I was clearly booked into one of the cheapest rooms) but looked out onto a wall, due to an extension. And it shouldn't be too much to expect a range of tea bags that includes peppermint/chamomile etc.

Overall a businessmans hotel. Quite a lot us are female these days.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan_horsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for choosing the Claremont for your recent visit to the Isle of Man and for taking the time to leave your review. May we also thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received and also the constructive critiques of the hotel. We are always looking on ways to improve our facilities and services and whilst we do indeed offer a range of beverages as part of the in-room facilities, we also have a wide selection of additional fruit and herbal teas available as may be requested by individual guests. On your next stay at the Claremont may we ask that you please do contact us ahead of your arrival and we will arrange a suitable room allocation and endeavour provide any specific requests or preferences accordingly. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at three of the hotels that rank above the Claremont I couldn’t disagree more.
The Claremont is much better than all of them in every aspect. Reception much nicer, corridors to rooms nicer, rooms defiantly better and the restaurant streets above the others.
In my opinion best hotel on the Island

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This hotel is located on the promenade, rooms are very small, and the restaurant had limited options. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and were helpful assisting in getting guests comfortable.

The floors were noisy made sleeping difficult when other guests where walking on the corridors or stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews