We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel
Nearby Hotels
At Caledonia(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
US$190
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
US$186
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mereside(Douglas)
US$139
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glen Mona(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
44
37
26
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
37
26
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barsea viewisle of manthe penthouseexcellent hotelbuffet breakfastevery eveningbar mealssingle roomcoach partyhotel roomsea frontroom was largett weekstayed for nightsnight stayshort break
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

The room was very small and dated we were dissapointed with breakfast on arrival i informed the staff i have numerous allergies like nothing with preservatives or sulphites no dairy or friut only pure green tea i had to buyy own tea and had dried toast for my breakfast the catering staff were also aware of my allergies I

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank ritaq4865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

overall our 4 night stay was enjoyable. Our room was a good size with a 32in tv and a bath low enough for my husband to get in to have a shower as he has walking problems. We did however pay extra for a sea view and these rooms must be bigger as the lady on the coach party said the rooms at the back were small. We ate once in the restaurant (it was my birthday and we only arrived that day) but not many people use it and their was no atmosphere. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. reception staff were very accommodating getting us taxi's for wherever we wanted to go and sorting our boarding passes for the flight home. The bar did not always have staff on it although it was open and you sometimes had to wait for someone to appear. overall can't fault it they made us very welcome.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view as it appears rooms at the back are small
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _sandyosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

I have just come home from a 4 night stay at this hotel. I was with a coach party and looking forward a couple of entertaining evenings with fellow traveller as we have on many other trips. This did not happen every evening we looked at one another and eventually went to our rooms, surely if the hotel knew there were a lot of people coming they would have organised something, the bar taking would have greatly increased. The rooms were so small, but very clean. The TVs was also very small and only basic programs. We did feel like the poor relations in the very back of the hotel and dining in a separate hall than where the rest of the public ate. The food was fair but the worse thing was deciding what you would like to eat the next day to make it easier for the staff. I would advise you to find another hotel if you are in a group. I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Stayed for a weekend
Pros
Good parking outside (may be challenging in high season tho)
Good wifi
Good breakfast
Good value
Easy 15 minute walk into town

Cons
Hotel is a bit dated/tired, not a big deal tho

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The Empress Hotel was in a great location and good value for money. Rooms were clean, except our bathroom bin hadn't been emptied from the last guests but not a problem, as emptied that day. Breakfast was very good, polite friendly staff. And free parking opposite!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank char_fm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews