We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent 2 nights at Hillside and can only repeat what others have said. Gert is a great host and has very good staff. The rooms are bright, spotless and airy. The linen felt like it was brand new and the shower room continued the theme. Downstairs there are two rooms where one can enjoy a pre or after dinner drink or coffee or just relax with a book or a newspaper. Then there is the breakfast room/restaurant which looks really pretty in the evening with myriads of lit candles. Outside there is a long conservatory and terrace with fantastic sea views over Ventnor. We had one dinner here which was excellent and very good value. The drinks are also good value.
The service is attentive without being in your face and the location ideal. It's a short walk into town but a bit uphill on the way back. Gert is opening a Bistro in town and we had a quick peek (before it opened). The decor matches the hotel and I'll bet it will be excellent.
One suggestion-- A bowl of fresh fruit salad would be a good addition to the otherwise very good breakfast selection.
Overall a great place for a getaway or a family reunion. Plenty of parking as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. I think they all have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steviec1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    38
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
56
293
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

......impeccable service!

Mothers Day this year was certainly a very special event. We arrived for our meal which was absolutely wonderful. canapés to start, the best goats cheese I have ever tasted (specially imported from France) washed down with Queen Victoria's favourite Champagne. We were then shown to our table (my husband and two children 14 & 15). The food was wonderful as was the wine. The surroundings are beautiful with great views over the hilltops to the sea. The staff at the Hillside are extremely attentive, with nothing being too much trouble. A real pleasure. The only negative was that I wasn't staying the night, but I'm sure that can be remedied in the near future.

To Gert and all the staff at the Hillside, Thank you for a wonderful day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsleofWightGaffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Being smokers and somewhat free spirits we were a little concerned after reading a few of the negative reviews here however we had a delightful time The rooms are beautiful, the food is delicious and the owners and staff are superb. They know exactly how to make you relax and feel looked after at your own pace. There is nowhere else we'd rather stay now!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our thanks to Gert and his staff for a very pleasant 3 night stay at Hillside. We took advantage of the food and wine package and were very pleased with the standard and quality of the produce on offer. The breakfast selection was also varied and well presented. The rooms were fine and the hotel maintained a high standard throughout. We wish them well with their next venture which I believe is a brasserie in town. We will certainly recommend this hotel to others visiting the island.

Frank & Kate

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have recently returned from a 3 day visit to the Hillside hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff all take an interest in you to make your visit feel special.
We especially liked the way the hotel was furnished, it was spotlessly clean & the food was of a high standard.
Each night we enjoyed a pre dinner drink in the sitting room which was made to feel cosy with lit candles.
We were originally attracted to this hotel by previous comments on trip advisor & we were certainly not disappointed.
We would certainly recommend this hotel & would definitely like to return in the future.
Gert & staff keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.5 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.9 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.5 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing