We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three days of relaxation”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Three days of relaxation”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had three excellent, relaxing days at this charing small hotel. We loved the uncluttered decor, the warm welcome and hospitality, the great food and wine. A small team works hard to create an effortless sense of calm luxuriousness.

It's a lovely location which - even in chilly February - was warm and comforting. Food is fresh, local, served with flair, and well-judged.

We had a superb time there and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go here ready to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    38
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
294
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed in some hotels, But this was really special
I can see why it has been voted by trip advisor as the 2nd best hotel in the country.
Gert and his staff have really high standards and it shows
Not to be missed

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 743robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had an overnight stay for Valentines. On arrrival we were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, with complimentary tea/coffee served in either the cosy nook-style room with real fire or the more chic lounge. The whole interior was bright and modern, with the beds as comfortable as promised. Our meal started with champagne and canapes including soused herring on rye bread - which reflected the scandinavian feel of the hotel. The meal itself was very tasty: smoked salmon, poussin and then a chocolate fondant (it was actually more of a cake but was good all the same). The wine and drinks were well priced. Breakfast the next day was excellent as well. All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Would recommend it to anyone.
To walk off breakfast we took a circular walk, going downhill towards Bonchurch, coming back along the coast to Ventnor esplanade and then up to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front with a sea view, no compliants with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband took me here for my birthday in November.
We had a choice of rooms but opted for a slightly smaller room with a great sea-view.
The beds are very comfortable with gorgeous feather duvets. Bigger beds would be nice but we are used to a kingsize at home!
The bathrooms were very clean with fluffy white towels.
We ate here 1 night and the food was of a very high standard with an excellent wine list. Having a drink in the living room with a roaring fire was also a bonus.
But the real gems of this place are Gurt and Britta! Both are so friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. A hard balance to strike.
We would definitely go back and would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Laura_go_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

As the name suggests, Hillside is on a steep hill and it's a bit of a pull to walk down into the centre of Ventnor. But the views out to sea are splendid The current owner has restored the historic house in a minimalist Scandinavian manner, which works very well. The room we had was comfortable and Gert's welcome delightful. The restaurant is popular with locals and is rather sociable. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank naveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 km away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.5 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
14.0 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing