We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
401
41
19
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
41
19
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern arthis teamisle of wightvegetable gardenhome grownsmall hotelhigh standardno tea or coffee making facilitieswarm welcomeoverlooking the seaunderfloor heatingenjoyable staywonderful weekendbreakfast was excellentdanishhousescandinavian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed in some hotels, But this was really special
I can see why it has been voted by trip advisor as the 2nd best hotel in the country.
Gert and his staff have really high standards and it shows
Not to be missed

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 743robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had an overnight stay for Valentines. On arrrival we were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, with complimentary tea/coffee served in either the cosy nook-style room with real fire or the more chic lounge. The whole interior was bright and modern, with the beds as comfortable as promised. Our meal started with champagne and canapes including soused herring on rye bread - which reflected the scandinavian feel of the hotel. The meal itself was very tasty: smoked salmon, poussin and then a chocolate fondant (it was actually more of a cake but was good all the same). The wine and drinks were well priced. Breakfast the next day was excellent as well. All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Would recommend it to anyone.
To walk off breakfast we took a circular walk, going downhill towards Bonchurch, coming back along the coast to Ventnor esplanade and then up to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front with a sea view, no compliants with it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MidlandsJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband took me here for my birthday in November.
We had a choice of rooms but opted for a slightly smaller room with a great sea-view.
The beds are very comfortable with gorgeous feather duvets. Bigger beds would be nice but we are used to a kingsize at home!
The bathrooms were very clean with fluffy white towels.
We ate here 1 night and the food was of a very high standard with an excellent wine list. Having a drink in the living room with a roaring fire was also a bonus.
But the real gems of this place are Gurt and Britta! Both are so friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. A hard balance to strike.
We would definitely go back and would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Laura_go_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

As the name suggests, Hillside is on a steep hill and it's a bit of a pull to walk down into the centre of Ventnor. But the views out to sea are splendid The current owner has restored the historic house in a minimalist Scandinavian manner, which works very well. The room we had was comfortable and Gert's welcome delightful. The restaurant is popular with locals and is rather sociable. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank naveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We spent two nights at Hillside and had a really relaxing time. The staff were friendly and helpful, even offering sore throat remedies! It is a lovely converted house and therefore has a 'homey' feel to it. There was a nice warm fire for reading by in the winter, all magazines and newspapers provided. The hotel was very clean and had a fresh feel that would be equally lovely in summer. The hospitality was excellent and I would recommend a wine evening whether or not you are staying the night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews