We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and well thought out family friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Front of the house The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Master Bedroom
Front of the house
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
Blue Bedroom, with 2 singles and 2 shuttle beds
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Dining Room Fire Place
Shower Room
Shower Room picture 2
The Garden
The hallway
The street
Ventnor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam R
1 review
“Beautiful and well thought out family friendly cottage”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a gorgeous cottage in Ventnor, a short walk from the beach. It is family friendly offering lots of place for grown ups and children, including a snug/playroom with a selection of toys, books, and DVDs. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with everything you will need. The garden was enjoyable with a box full of beach toys, comfy outdoor seating (British weather permitting!), and an area of artificial grass for the children to play on. The bedrooms were all spacious and very comfortable, and the bathroom and shower room beautifully done to a high standard. Although you cannot park outside the house, there is a single parking space very close at the top of the hill, and you can still stop outside the house to unload your bags. Sue and Gerry are fantastic owners, with great communication before arrival and provided everything we needed.

On a practical note, there are a lot of steps in this house, although our 20 month old had no problems with them. And the house is on a very steep hill - make sure your handbrake works when unloading the car outside the house!

This is a great cottage, probably the best we have stayed in - already booked again for a long weekend in 2018!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Adam,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are very pleased to welcome you back following your booking for next year.
We have found the stairs are well spaced and not too steep. However, if guests wish to use them, we provide three gates which parents can use as barriers either on doorways or the stairs to ensure safety of small children or other vulnerable people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claireabu...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday home from home 💕”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family with 5 children stayed at Bentinck for a week in August 2017, and loved it!
House: beautifully decorated and furnished. Every little detail had been considered, it was extremely comfortable for us. The pull-out beds could be left low (for toddlers) or easily raised to a normal level. The children's lounge was a big hit, and DVDs provided by Sue were a godsend! Lovely to find kitchen cupboards stocked with essentials like tea/coffee, cling film, dishwasher tablets, and marmite! Really gave the feeling of staying at a friends' place. Friendly neighbours

Garden: small but with a large dining set for al fresco entertaining. Astro turf was great as kids could go out after the rain and not get muddy. Parking space was a few feet up the road, great to have.

Location: so close to Ventnor town (1 minute) and the beach (3-4 mins without 5 kids in tow!).

Negatives: the house is on a very steep hill. It's a very short hill, maybe 8 houses from Bentinck to the bottom of the hill, but it would not be suitable for wheelchair users. We pushed a double buggy up, in fits of laughter, almost horizontal trying to scale Tulse Hill. So not impossible, but maybe important to others.

We would love to return, and hope we'll get the chance one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for your really informative review - it really is a very comperhensive summary of Bentinck's pros and cons. We are very happy that you enjoyed the house and so pleased your youngsters enjoyed the extra "snug" room - in our experience this can make a great contribution to holiday harmony. It may be worth mentioning, for those who have not been to Bentinck, that it is possible to approach from Grove Road which is a bit less steep for anyone who cannot manage Tulse Hill. Thanks again and we hope you will return in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smith_cla...
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house on a quiet road- a stones throw from the town and beach”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights at Bentinck. The house was great. Comfy, brilliant provision for kids, and beautifully finished. The house is close to restaurants and 5 minutes walk from the beach. All the rooms in the house are a great size- so a family plus grandparents have room to potter without getting in each other's way! I would definitely recommend Bentinck to those looking for a large house to stay in Ventnor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks for your very kind review.

We hope you will return to Bentinck for another break in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing