We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade Jam is superb !”
Review of Pencil Cottage

Pencil Cottage
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Described as a tea room, but serves very good lunches
Reviewed 30 September 2018

My wife and I visited several times during our 5 day stay last week. Happily our B & B was quite nearby so we found it very convenient. The scones with clotted cream and homemade jam were excellent - the only dilemma was whether to have the strawberry or plum ! We had visited on our previous trips to Shanklin and I am pleased to say that our experience has been enjoyable every time. Amiable owners and staff and consistently good quality food at a reasonable price. Already looking forward to our next visit !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank askjames1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that enjoyed your visits and returned. We look forward to seeing you again next time when we can assure of the same quality of service and food.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

Stopped here for just a drink but then noticed the wonderful cakes and as my wife must have Gluten free it was nice to find really nice cakes for her too especially as unlike many places that offer gluten free cake it is so dry here it was moist and quite delicious

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for takling the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely cottage and gardens. However, we visited on a warmish day in the summer holidays and as far as I could tell there were only 3 people serving, making food and taking orders. As such, I waited in a queue for about 15 minutes to be served andthen an even longer wait for our food to arrive. There was only a dinosaur sandwich option for children (that's it, just a sandwich in a dinosaur shape- no salad, no crisps, no drink) then I was left feeling really disappointed.
The scones were a bit dry to top it all off. Will not visit here again, but we fortunately found Rhlystone around the corner who DID cater for children and had more staff to serve at this busy time of year.

Thank CLee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. During the Summer holidays we have three serving staff plus kitchen staff but there can be a wait dependant on the type and size of the orders preceding yours. All of our food is prepared fresh and our counter staff advise everyone if there is going to be a longer than usual wait. With regard to childrens meals, we have added dinosaur sandwiches (which come with salad unless asked otherwise) as an extra but we can and do provide any of our fresh food for children including hot dogs, sausage rolls, pizzas and a range of drinks including Capri Sun, Squash and Milkshakes. Our scones are baked fresh every day.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

A Quick Review

- Good location
- Eat outside or in
- Good choice of food from breakfast and through the day
- Very friendly service
- Very clean
- Quality of food was good for price
- Clean Toilets

Down side
- Only one - the chairs in the conservatory 'scrape' over the tiled floor - some rubber end on legs would be good - a small niggle but easily sorted

Overall a good experience by a well drilled team

Thank You

We will drop in again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cricklewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand the comment about the rubber ends of the legs and we have them ordered for the start of next season.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We had a snack lunch at the Pencil Cottage while passing back through Shanklin. It was a nice day and we sat in the garden which was quite busy. I had a crab sandwich and my partner had cheese and tomato both of which came with a trim of salad a crisps. A pleasant interlude, would I recommend it, Yes.

Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pencil Cottage also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Pencil Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing