We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cream tea”
Review of Pencil Cottage

Pencil Cottage
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Described as a tea room, but serves very good lunches
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Despite having been to the IOW for the last 7 years we have never stopped in here before. This time however we fancied trying somewhere new and how glad we were to find Pencil Cottage. There is a very attractive courtyard garden with lots of little trinkets and features to look at and there is also a cute shop in a shed and a gift shop at the front for a browse.
I liked the ordering system - just go to the hatch, order and pay rather than waiting for table service and the young man who served us was very polite and brought the food over to the table we had chosen.
I would definitely re-visit here over other tea rooms close by - it had a more relaxed ambience and the scones and tea were very nice. They also had a good choice of ice-creams which pleased my son - he'd recommend the chocolate fudge brownie!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bronwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you chose to give us a try and that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Situated at the bottom of the hill in Shanklin Old Village, this place, fronted by a gift shop deserves closer inspection, at the back of the store is a well run cafe which we enjoy every time we visit Shanklin, it's one of the few I would recommend in Shanklin - the owner and his staff/family are worthy of note as they provide lovely food and customer service - we have had Cream Teas here which my Wife says are among the best on the Island, their Crab Sandwiches are lovely. All table servive with a smile.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MuncherKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoy your visits and look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Within Shanklin is tucked away this little gen! We visited 3 times whist on holiday. For tea, crab salads & snacks + ice creams.
Plenty of seating inside & outside, good food, with service with a smile. Thank You, keep up the high standards.
Would recommend to all.

Thank philandliz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your visits and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We sat in the pretty garden and had lovely cream tea’s which we all enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with regard to my daughters egg allergy. I would recommend a visit.

Thank mrsmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for comments and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We stopped after a walk, staff were friendly, tea was good with plenty of extra hot water.Scones were lovely ,fresh & tasty.

Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derick h, Owner at Pencil Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back if you walk this way again.
Lisa & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pencil Cottage also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Pencil Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing