We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
375
80
14
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
80
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel isle of wight dance floor side sea view swimming pool dining room no hesitation in recommending this hotel waitress service hotel is spotlessly clean family run hotel evening meal many thanks half board coastal path coach trip short break town centre
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were met at the hotel by one of the owners and straightaway I knew we would enjoy our stay. The hoteliers (both staff and owners) couldn't do enough for us. They were so helpful and friendly without being over the top which is a difficult balance to achieve. We had not booked dinner at the hotel intending to eat out at night but the menu/food was so good that we ended up eating in on most evenings! There was entertainment most evenings but this was more background than intrusive and we were still able to chat comfortablywith the people we went away with. The hotel has a lovely swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The only thing I would say (and I am being extremely picky here) was that our room was a bit on the small side for a double. When I go there again (note I say When and not If) I would upgrade from a standard room or maybe choose a twin room rather than a double. I really cannot praise this hotel enough and would highly recommend it. We are four people in around seventy-ish but there were families staying there and it is a convenient base for getting out and about.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Cyndy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Many thanks for your wonderful review mentioning so many aspects you enjoyed during you stay here..It will be great to welcome you back to Channel View please book with us direct next time and we can discuss the rooms with you, as we have many variations. Your review is much appreciated. All the best to you all Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Very clean hotel, all staff so helpful and great swimming pool
Service excellent at breakfast with a very good extensive English breakfast.
Did try evening meal once but not impressed few vegetables poorly presented, expensive for what it was
Avoid room 60 due to noise from above late at night and early morning

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank geoffangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your review sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening meal and felt it was over priced, we usually get good comments about our food but we have failed on this occasion. Room 60 is one of our most popular and rebooked rooms it was very unfortunate that the guests in the room above disturbed you we feel sure they did not realise. Thank you for saying the staff were helpful a lot of them have been we us a long time. We hope you will return one day. Kind regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

My wife and I have been returning here every year since we first booked. All the people at Channel View, office staff dinning room staff and room service are all first class and the food is just as good.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank baronkenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Simple the best type of review thank you for all your wonderful comments. All the best Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Our 4th stay at Channel View and every bit as good as the first. All areas clean and tidy and well maintained. Breakfast and evening meals to a high standard. All staff polite and helpfull with a warm welcome from all the management team. Looking forward to our return in September

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeoneill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for returning 4 times and for reviewing the hotel. The fact that you keep coming back says so much long may that continue.
All the best to you both Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Love the place Gary in restaurant top man
Andrew on reception lovely, I really can’t find fault with this hotel the location the service the amenities all excellent, reception team go above and beyond, we haven’t left yet still got 2 more night stay but we are already planning to return same time next year only difference we will do a Monday to Friday, Our room has a lovely view and the lift is a godsend for me as I suffer badly from an old knee injury, 10/10

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank jinxsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for booking and reviewing Channel View sounds like you really enjoyed your visit, Gary and Andrew will be pleased to have a personal mention. We look forward to your retrun. Best regards Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews