We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
279
23
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
23
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour roombay viewdvd librarydog friendly beachhome made cakesdog ownersafternoon tea coffeefree cakeeach afternoonspecial dietary requirementsgluten free breakfaston arrivallovely gardenhonesty bargoodrington sandsbreakfast room isbrixham harbour
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We have just returned from another excellent week in Goodrington Sands where the hosts at Amber House, Debbie and John, provided us yet again with the perfect base to visit the area from.

The fact that we have booked again for 2019 should be sufficient to advise you that we highly recommend Amber House for your next stay in the area but I will list a few of the key features to help you decide.

Location - five minutes walk from the two beaches and a grassed area at Goodrington Sands; one beach is dog friendly all year round. There are places to eat and drink behind the beaches as well as children's areas. It is a five minute drive to Paignton and is 10 to 15 minutes from Brixham and Torquay (traffic permitting!). It is very close to two of the Steam train stations at Goodrington and Paignton. Like everywhere in the Torbay area, you will encounter at least one hill to climb so do expect that - it comes with the territory!!

Amber House itself - it has bedrooms on the Ground and First Floor. One of the rooms on the first floor, which has just been refurbished, has a wonderful view over the bay from the bed in the main bedroom. This room will sell out quickly! I cannot comment on the views in the other first floor rooms but I am sure they will all have a very nice view. We elect to have one of the rooms on the Ground Floor (Rockpool - accommodates 3 people) as we have two dogs. The owners plan to refurbish this room over the winter in preparation for 2019 so we look forward to our stay in it. There are also two single bedrooms on the Ground Floor, the remaining rooms are on the First. The breakfast room is on the Ground Floor and there is an area to the rear of this which has comfy chairs for a relaxing afternoon cuppa. The back garden also has chairs to allow you to rest after the exertions of the day with a cold beer, wine or soft drink which is available in the fridge at very sensible prices.

The Rooms - well maintained and cleaned daily. I judge an ensuite on the power of the shower - ours was excellent. There are tea / coffee making facilities in each room.

Parking - there is off-road parking in front of the house for all guests.

The Hosts - Debbie and John. You cannot ask for a more welcoming, helpful couple who work together exceptionally well to provide the perfect stay. Debbie is front of house and will answer or find the answer to your queries. John comes out of the kitchen when he can and is always good for a bit of banter, a review of the world and the odd dreadful joke!!

Breakfast - within reason, the selection from the basic breakfast menu seems endless and leaves you as full as you want to be to start your day. The basics are cereals and porridge, fruit, yogurt, a Full English, omelettes and toast. John heads up breakfast preparation and is very good at it.

Afternoon Tea and Cakes - the final deciding factor for me!!! If you just fancy a cuppa and a slice (or 2 in my case!!) of Debbie's mouthwatering cake (free) in the afternoon in the garden, then make sure you get back to the house on time at least once during your stay. Victoria Sponge, Chocolate / Coffee and my favourite, Lemon Drizzle. There is also a gluten free cake available if Debbie is aware of specific dietary requirements. She will bake a cake for you to take home if you ask. This year, they are £8. Needless to say, I'm back to regular exercise tomorrow!!

Overall - a welcoming couple serving fantastic breakfasts and great cake in a lovely house, located minutes from the beach, with off street parking. What more do you need?

Will we return? - we've already booked for August 2019.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twinturbomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

As always, it was a pleasure to welcome you all to Amber House. The toast challenge is already being looked into :) Looking forward to 2019 already. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights , found the hotel to be excellent , nice room with en-suite shower and toilet , good location ,easy access to the town and beach , quality breakfast .warm and friendly owners , will definitely stay again

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank philipheseltine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Stayed here for the first time for a couple of evenings. Our room was 'Coast' which was small but well equipped. Really good shower and nice views. Debbie and John are fabulous hosts with good ideas for dinner venues and places to visit. Plenty of private parking outside, and you can walk into Paignton for a range of eats. We quite liked Cantina which is about 5 mins stroll away. Nice pizzas, and they have live music many nights.

If you like a drinkypoos, Debbie and John provide a bar with an honesty box, nice outside garden area to relax in.

So in summary, excellent location in Devon to venture out, private parking with lots of room, the most amazing range of breakfasts, lovely rooms, lovely hosts, child friendly, dog friendly, mature people friendly, and a great place to relax.

We loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We chose Amber House for its location - close to the rail station, with an easy walk to the town or seafront. (There is also ample parking if you bring a car). We also wanted a nice quiet room with views and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Tall Ships room (nice touch - all rooms are individually named) and were pleased with the space, amenities, cleanliness and views. The en-suite was spacious and well fitted out. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice, and there is a pleasant garden (also with views) to use if the weather is good. Additional nice touches - afternoon coffee and cake, honesty bar, books/DVDs available. What made our stay extra special was Debbie's friendly and efficient running of front of house. Very welcoming and full of good advice on how to make the best of our time, tailoring recommendations to individual guests' needs. We came prepared with a hit list of places to visit, but added in a couple more on Debbie's recommendation and were not disappointed. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We aim to make Amber House a home from home and want our guests to get the most out of their time staying with us. We are really pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again if you ever visit the bay. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Wonderful stay as usual, we were in the Harbour room which has recently been renovated to a very high standard, lovely views out to the garden, we had breakfast outside which is great for us as we had our dog with us and it was such a lovely morning, wouldn’t stay anywhere else it’s perfect

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank kimslade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

It was lovely seeing you all again, we look forward to the next visit. Hopefully with the same gorgeous weather we are having. Best wishes Debbie and John x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews