We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
280
23
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
23
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour room bay view dvd library home made cakes dog friendly beach afternoon tea coffee free cake each afternoon special dietary requirements gluten free breakfast on arrival lovely garden honesty bar goodrington sands breakfast room is brixham harbour drinks tray
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017

spent 3 nights at amber guest house. had the tall ships room overlooking the sea. its a fantastic room, bright , clean ,tasteful . dressing gown and slippers ,tv , dvd , tea making . Debbie and john are great hosts , and debbies afternoon cakes and tea are a must. its in a great location and makes a great base to explore devon. I cannot recommend this guest house enough wish I could have stayed longer ( the full English breakfast is also a winner)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fishman007706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Tall Ships room on the weekend of the Torbay Air Show, we were greeted with the offer of afternoon tea and cake and shown to our room which was absolutely beautiful.

King size bed (very comfortable), large bathroom and view overlooking the beautiful well kept garden and Brixham harbour.

There is everything you need here, DVD's, books, tea and coffee in your room with biscuits all available if you want to spend time in your room.

Large TV with free view so plenty of channels, and comfortable arm chairs to relax in.

The shower was out of this world! Power shower and a range of complimentary toiletries.

The breakfast consists of a vast range from fruit and yoghurt, cereal, toast, full English breakfast, omelettes, kippers, porridge just to name a few, all cooked to perfection, with plenty of tea, coffee and fruit juice to wash it all down with.

We can't wait to return again, wonderful hosts and made our weekend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. Birthdays are special, and it was lovely to help make yours an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We have just enjoyed a fantastic 7 night stay in the Harbour Room. This clean & comfortable double room has an en-suite shower room. You have a view over the well maintained rear garden & also sea views towards Brixham & Berry Head. It also benefits from an inter-connecting bedroom which our 7 year old daughter slept in. Both rooms are well presented & cleaned every day. Breakfast is included & you can choose from a varied menu, the full English breakfast is well worth a mention & locally sourced produce is used. Complimentary coffee / tea & homemade cakes are available in the afternoon. Amber House is presented to a very high standard both internally & externally, free onsite parking is a real bonus. The location works well with Goodrington & Paignton both within walking distance. We first stayed at Amber House last May & we enjoyed our stay so much we immediately booked for this May, we are also returning in August & we have already booked for next August. We live 300 miles away but being looked after at Amber House & visiting the beautiful south Devon coast makes it well worth the journey. Fellow guests also keep returning to Amber House & it is not hard to see why. Debbie & John really do look after you & they have created a fantastic place to stay, Amber House is a credit to them both.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to welcome you all back to Amber House and help to make your holiday enjoyable, here's to many more. Best wishes Debbie and John x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at this guest house. Debbie and John where very friendly, the room was comfortable and clean and breakfast in the garden was most enjoyable. Just a short walk to the beach and all the amenities. I would definitely stay here again with my family and my dogs.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We have visited Amber House on several occasions now and we are never disappointed. Fantastic hosts and incredible location. The breakfasts are incredible with a wide range of choice. Afternoon tea and home made cakes are served on the lawn looking over the bay. Will be back again soon.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richarddH7721CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are looking forward to many more return visits. Best wishes Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews