We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
312
58
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
58
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel huevos rancheros registration form on arrival goodrington sands lovely hotel warm welcome ample parking breakfast menu balcony room steep hill comfortable lounge paignton area three nights kippers enjoyable stay well stocked bar
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this small hotel for a couple of nights. The team were extremely friendly and most helpful and accommodating. The room was very comfortable with an efficient ensuite shower.
The hotel is within easy walk of the beach.
The food is excellent. We had breakfast and evening meals on both days. The breakfast menu provided a good choice to suit all.
The dinner menu was extremely extensive. All meals were tasty, well cooked and presented. Service was also with a smile.
A most enjoyable couple of days - thank you.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rfi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Summerhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your excellent review and feed back. We are glad you enjoyed our cuisine and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We had a wonderful time. Lovely smart clean welcoming hotel. Were met with tea and biscuits and had a lovely room with a great view. Breakfast was cooked to order and evening meals home cooked. Well stocked bar. Plenty of parking with the beach minutes away

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mjdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Summerhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know we met your expectations.It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit and it didn't let us down, even if we didn't get our favourite balcony room this time. As ever the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and the food both in the morning and evening was superb with the usual large portions. Added to this Summerhill is in an excellent setting being so close to the beautiful beach at Goodrington. Debbie and the family really make it somewhere you want to keep on coming back to and we can't wait for our next visit already. Thanks to all, we will miss you! A&A

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlanDavis11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Summerhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Always a pleasure! It was great to see you again here at Summerhill for the week. Glad you enjoyed your beak and look forward to welcoming you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay. Welcoming, attentive staff, beautiful building in good repair, grand reception room, lovely view from the restaurant/breakfast room, well stocked bar, clean rooms, great breakfast with plenty of choice, quiet room, (apart from our noisy neighbour who apparently didn’t understand how not to let doors slam in the quiet hours -some people just have no consideration!). We booked this late for the bank holiday weekend so didn’t have as much choice as we would have liked, but reviews were good and rightly so. Would recommend the summerhill hotel and an glad we got to enjoy their hospitality. Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 4AlexK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Summerhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you very much for your great review and feed back. Glad you enjoyed our hospitality.
WE look forward to greeting you at Summerhill again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Excellent hotel with friendly staff.Offered tea and biscuits on arrival. Good facilities and food.Clean,tidy rooms.Near to beach and the steam train.Free on-site parking. Ticked all the boxes for a long weekend away.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews