We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous caravan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous caravan!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed on this site for a week at the end of August and thought it was very good. A late booking, we booked direct with the site and had chosen a Gold caravan, which was the best option available and looked lovely. We were then advised that we had been upgraded FOC to a Platignum caravan, which sounded great!

On arrival, we were not disappointed in the least. It was gorgeous! New, spotlessly clean and really comfortable. First class! Our only criticism (preference) was that the fridge and freezer would have been better the other way round (fridge at eye level, to save opening two cupboard doors), so that is how good it was!

Site is lovely, very clean, and there are ample facilities on site and nearby. Goodrington Sands are a pleasant walk away, as was the nearby leisure centre. Paignton is a bit further on. Lots more within driving distance.

The entertainment wasn't to our particular taste but the function room was packed every evening, so was obviously popular. Went along for a quiz night, but that was a let down (12 questions...!). Our ten-year old loved the pools and the amusement arcade, plus the neighbouring driving range.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

As mentioned by someone else, the one downside was the extremely noisy seagull population, who welcomed dawn in every morning :-(

Would recommend Paignton Zoo, Babbacombe Model Village and Woodlands Leisure Park for visits. Also, for a fabulous pub meal out, a must is the The Hare and Hounds on Torquay Road, Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot. Carvery, regular menu, plus dessert trolley to die for! :-D

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    146
    47
    15
    15
See reviews for
376
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

History: This is was my 3rd "static" stay at Hoburne, the last one was about 9 years ago, my very first visit though was as a kid (my parents were the very first tourers when it opened).

I stayed this weekend 23-25th Sept 2011, as part of a Sun holiday promo, this was'nt my first choice but we still had a good time, anyway in brief here's what I thought:

Good: Excellent accomodation in a fantastic location, booking in was quick & easy, staff were very friendly and professional, the cleaner did a fantastic job (just a pity the windows are a bit dirty), no gas all electric, welcome pack a very clever & cheap way of making new arrivals very welcome, everything was in the van that you would need, which included a hoover, ironing board, toaster etc,etc and the park is located within 10-15 minutes of Brixham, paignton & Torquay.

The bad; restuarant size, pricing & opening time, amusements area,
poor signage and opening times (I had to ask a receptionist what time the restaurant opened), it is a hilly site so very unsuitable for wheel chairs etc & the direction regarding sat nav instructions is correct; drive with caution.

The ugly: paying the outstanding balance prior to arrival is a farce, I had confirmation, this then had to be sent back so that a reference number and phone number could be sent to me, so that I could settle up ?.

Hint/advice; If you want a nice meal before 7pm and at a decent price, I can heartily recommend the Inn on the Quay on the goodrington sea front, it is a very large establishment that serves excellent food more reasonably than in Hoburne's restuarant, e.g; Lasagna classico (hoburn) inc bread & salad, Inn on the quay; lasagne, chips, bread & salad for less, and the pie with proper pastry was a lot cheaper, do book though as for some strange reason it can get busy.

Hoburne Torbay is a great holiday park which I would highly recommend, it does however need to bring it's main complex into this century though & also needs to be more competitive when it comes to it's resturant.

I'd definetly go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Turboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have been staying here at regular intervals since 1983 (i was 11) and this site improves all the time, only slightly dissapointing thing is they no longer have Live Bands as entertainment, but then i suppose that's just catering to the younger generation these days

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broomy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed at the beginning of August for a week with a caravan rented from H&H Caravans. The caravan was top of the range, spotlessly clean and cheaper than renting directly from the holiday park. It was also in a really good location, only a few minutes walk from the main entertainment complex.
The site was great - beautiful views down to the sea and lots of wildlife - although the seagulls were very loud in the early morning but they seem to be a bit of a pest everywhere in this part of Devon. The walk down to the beach is about 15 minutes through a field and then past a leisure centre.
We really enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools, although they could have been a little warmer, and the childrens playground was pretty good. The complex felt secure in the evening so the kids could go off by themselves while we watched the entertainment in the bar, which had an outside deck overlooking the playground. As it was during the school holidays you had to wait for a table to become free some evenings - it was fine, you just had to be eagled-eyed and move quickly!! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the bar staff especially were very efficient and you never had to wait long for a drink.
I would definitely visit a Hoburne site again.

Room Tip: Eagle Meadow - perfectly located half way between the entertainment complex and the on-site shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Just come back from a week at Hoburne Torbay. We were very disappointed with our caravan, it was dirty (dirty windows, covers on bed hadn't been washed, mouldy shower, smell in living room/kitchen which came from the grease in the oven, used teabags on the ground by steps for caravan and used barbeque underneath caravan. The double bed was really uncomfortable. Housekeeping did come and clean the oven for us and maintenance came and took away the barbeque etc when we asked.

The swimming pool changing area was dirty and we never saw anyone cleaning it.

However, our children loved Sammy the seahorse and the entertainments, they also really enjoyed the soft play area and outside play area.

We visited Hoburne Naish in May and really enjoyed it (we stayed in a private caravan then). Wouldn't return to Hoburne Torbay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.5 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,589 reviews
3.5 km away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
22.2 km away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing