We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
193
44
6
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
44
6
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front nothing is too much trouble evening entertainment next year would highly recommend this hotel coach party my elderly mother sea view close to shops coach holiday cannot fault hotel is situated rooms are clean third visit meal times bus station friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Just an overnight stay for my annual participation in the Torbay half marathon. The hotel is so well located overlooking the sea. The twin room was very clean, a little small but adequate and very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly indeed, we did not eat at the hotel but loved the dining area where breakfast was served. Our only observation was that even though we had a great view we would probably opt for a rear hotel room next time due to the noise at the front overnight.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MakemycakePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Took my elderly parents for a break. They had been several times before on coach trip. The staff were. Excellent especially as my dad suffers from dementia they were helpful and understanding. The rooms were clean and comfortable the food was good basic English food ideal for them. Entertainment every evening. The only let down was WiFi was only available in the bar area.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank shirleyannbeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile


Caters largely for coach tours; thus meal time are very restricted to fit in with their schedules.

Towels are not replaced automatically and our shower wasn't working.

WIFI is very hit and miss and access to the car park is a nightmare due to one-way systems.

Low end hotel that urgently need attention, and rethink.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thankyou for your feedback.

Coach parties do indeed make up the majority of our business but we do offer the same exemplary service to our indiviual visitors. Our meal times are displayed on Booking.com and on our website so that potential guests can check this prior to booking.

As we are classified as a 2 star hotel, no our towels are not automatically changed every day but as it explains in the information folder, on a 4 night break they are changed on the middle morning and on a 7 night break they are changed on alternate days HOWEVER, should anyone wish them to be changed more frequently then we are happy to oblige, you just need to ask.

As to your shower not working, did you report it to someone to enable us to look at it for you? As we don't currently have an issue with any of our showers?

Wifi, as advertised, we only have in our main bar lounge area. Your comment about the car park puzzles me, as we have never had this comment before, i can only think that maybe you visited on the Airshow weekend when there were lots of road closures.

It sounds as though we just didn't tick the boxes that you were looking for, so i apologise for that. I feel that your comment about us being a low end hotel that urgently needs attention is very unfair, as anyone will see from almost all of our other reviews this is not the case. The outside does indeed need a facelift following the battering from the extreme weather condtions that we suffered back in February but this has been started and is no mean feat due to the fact that all faces of the hotel are not straight up or down, but this has started and will take the best part of a year to finish. The inside is constantly being re-invested into as anyone can see with their own 2 eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We took our 93 year old dad on a short holiday to Marine Hotel in May 2018. The hotel was well located on the seafront close to pubs and restaurants. It seemed to be well maintained and smart in traditional style. Our excellent twin room was very spacious with a newly refurbished shower room and it had a large bay window with views of the sea and harbour. Dads double room was compact but comfortable and well decorated. We were allocated this room as it was almost opposite the lift. He was very happy with it.
They were happy to accommodate the mobility scooter, which we had rented locally, in the foyer next to a charging point.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel but there was a good choice of dishes and the food was well prepared and very efficiently served.
The hotel caters for coach parties and there were two groups staying - a very friendly bunch of people. The bonus, which we were unaware of when booking, was that entertainment was provided in the evening - we watched singers and singer-comedians which were very enjoyable.
Probably one of the hotel's best features were the staff: very friendly, helpful and numerous!
Dad loved his break there and we would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinehotelpaignton, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Good Afternoon
Thankyou for taking the time to write this lovely review for us, i shall pass your comments on to the rest of the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We are just back from a five days break at Marine Hotel.Had a lovely time.The Hotel is really nice with a fantastic location.The food is really good and the staff excellent.Evening entertainment was a cut above the usual hotel entertainment. The only thing was our room was really small.It was like a single room with twin beds. Nevertheless it was very clean as was the bathroom.

Room Tip: Room 310 is very small.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gwenda41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews