We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fish and chips”
Review of The London Fryer

The London Fryer
Ranked #30 of 187 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We have a small seating area, 8 tables on the restaurant side and 3 tables on the takeaway side. Reservations are available via telephone. We include the catch of the day special for £7.50 that includes bread and butter, any drink, haddock, chips and a choice of mushy peas, garden peas, our homemade coleslaw, sweetcorn, salad or curry sauce. We also provide a variety of other fish including Sea Bass, Lemon Sole, cod, Skate, Rock, Salmon etc. Vegetarian option and many other meals available
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on arrival to Paignton. We've been disappointed recently with the fish and chips in the town. This was much better. Haddock and chips really tasty and piping hot

1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Popped in by chance for a small cod and chips, nothing to write home about. More expensive than others in the locality and quite disappointing in teems of taste.

Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

It's a shame you feel this way. From looking at your past reviews on other restaurants it seems you dislike the quality of food in Paignton. I guess you have a very particular palate for taste. In the restaurant, our waitresses are told to ask how the meal is to every customer in order to make sure they are happy and enjoy their visit. This week, not one customer has said anything that they weren't pleased with so it's a pity you could not address your feelings in person. For the price, it is £5.20 and with what we pay for our high-quality fish, I can assure you that we really do not make much profit especially with this oap. Furthermore, from past customers statements, they all are surprised with how big the portion is so it is not like you are not getting your money's worth.
Thank you anyway for taking the time to review us. We hope one day you may change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Pop in this place for takeaway and this place gone down here the staff OK but food not good use be and we been in here good few times over the years but this time worse it ever been chips was OK but fish were full fat where was not drain before put in box. Would I go back again I got say not in hurry go there again anymore which shame as was one best chip shop in Torbay

Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

We are truly upset this has been the case. I will be notifying the counter staff about this and will be making sure they do drain before serving. As you mention you have been here before and speak highly about our food so we really hope you can consider coming back. Roy, the owner works monday, thursday, friday and some saturdays so if you wanted to speak to him in person, he will be more than happy to hear your concerns. Our deepest apoligies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Quite good, have had better; reasonable portions sizes, but not very hot; looked like it had been "thrown" into the box

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

It is unfortunate that we could not please you more. We hope you can try us once more and maybe this time it will be much better. The staff has been shown how to make up meals so for a "thrown" appearance, is not acceptable. If you do come into our chippy again, please do speak to one of the fryers (Roy or Martin) and describe the staff member that served you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We often call on a Sunday night before driving home and their Cod is always spot on. Clean and white and the batter crisp.

1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Thankyou very much. We are very happy to hear this. Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The London Fryer also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The London Fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing