We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambassador
Ranked #18 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly place..”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Great location, 2 minute walk from the strip and beach front.
Lovely owners, very welcoming and friendly always had time to chat to us
Breakfast was very nice, good selection. Hotel is nicely decorated and spotless throughout, we stayed in a double room - very comfortable. Clean fresh sheets and towels, rooms well equiped with tv/dvd player.. Kettle and condiments. Selection of dvds in the lounge which you can take to your room to watch. Cannot fault and will be returning again this year. Would definatley recommend +++

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlove06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dugetta, Owner at The Ambassador, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
95
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porth Newquay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We visited the Ambassador for a third time in September,and I cannot express the warmth and dedication that Yvonne and Mark put into this beautiful Guest House. This time we met up with friends,who we had recommended the Ambassador to,they were not disappointed; so come on folks,where else will you get 5 star treatment with a 3 star tarriff; from the welcoming smile as you arrive, to the wave goodby as you leave, it doesn't get any better than this, trust me.
Thanks again Yvonne, Mark, Mollie,Bracken, & "little bump"

Room Tip: Ground floor bedroom is excellent, but you can only have it when my husband has dragged me kicking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

What luck !, took a chance and picked this B&B as we were staying 1 night, we could have stayed for 7 ! The greeting and hospitality Yvonne & Mark gave us was outstanding, particularly my elderly mother was feeling poorly. So quiet and decor lovely , room very clean with en-suite well stocked with toiletries and parking on drive. Breakfast fantastic, even smoked salmon & bagels on menu !
Definetly recommend this B&B !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great B&B. Rooms nice and clean with good sized shower room/toilet with extra touchs like shower gel & shampoo etc. Breakfasts plenty to choose from and well cooked. Hosts very welcoming Yvonne and Mark were more than happy to help. Would definitely stay again and recommend highly. Pete & Lynn Cooper

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Warm, Friendly Hosts & very clean well equipped rooms. Breakfast was marvelous & our Hosts were also very helpful with information about the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonbb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 km away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#24 of 100 in Paignton
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#30 of 100 in Paignton
89 reviews
0.2 km away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#19 of 100 in Paignton
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador

Property: The Ambassador
Address: 23 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small recommended 4 star guesthouse close to all amenities and beach. An ideal location to explore all Torbay and South Devon have to offer. Family run with comfortable, well maintained and clean en-suite rooms. Free car parking available to guests and free wifi throughout the property. Hearty breakfast included with traditional, continental or alternatives like smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Larger superior doubles available for longer stays and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing