We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
175
51
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
51
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit city centre top floor lovely guesthouse train station b and b huge walk in shower location is ideal short walk beautiful city market square definitely stay here again cooked breakfast large room wonderful stay within easy walking distance breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

My husband had a 'special' birthday to celebrate, he had wanted to visit Durham cathedral, so after checking out TripAdvisor i chose 'Castle View Guest house', and it didn't disappoint.
After a long car journey we arrived to a warm welcome from Mrs Williams, had a parking spot not far from the front door, the parking permit system was explained to us, breakfast time given, a map of Durham and keys to our room - number 4.
Our room was facing the main road with side views towards the Castle and cathedral. The room was warm large, clean and very comfortable. The shower was powerful, with high end products available 'The White Company, Noir'.
The breakfast choice was excellent, the 2 ladies who served it, Margaret on our 2nd and 3rd morning, not sure of lady's name on 1st morning. Both very obliging and helpful.
The B+B was in a good position, short walk to Cathedral + Castle.Bus station was near. The railway station was up a hill about a 15 minutes walk away. Our 3rd morning we caught the trail to Newcastle, there was a frequent service, £8 return and only took 12 minutes, a city well worth a visit.Durham had plenty of places to eat and not far from the B+B was M&S, Tesco and Salisbury's. The weather was kind to us while there, so in all,we had a very good stay. I would recommend 'Castle View Guest House' if visiting Durham and surround areas.

Room tip: High room, view of cathedral and Castle
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Slight confusion with booking in time but sorted. Beautifully allocated rooms with views of Cathedral & Castle. Rooms are sumptuous and bathroom well appointed. Best Northern Hospitality as always. Tried Ye Olde Elm Tree Inn up the hill for wonderful local fare. Woke up to winter wonderland! Lots of fluffy snow!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ingridm909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back.
But we can’t promise you the white stuff - this is the first snow we’ve seen in Durham for many a long year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Came to stay in Durham to visit our daughter who is at uni here. Very accomodating in that we were allowed to check in an hour earlier that usual so we could leave our car outside the guest house. Parking space right outside the door with a parking permit provided. Great location for town centre, if a bit noisy at night! Very quiet once all the students were home to bed!! Lovely big rooms, very nicely furnished, and clean, with very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast with plenty of choice on the menu. Would say our stay slightly spoilt by lack of attention to detail - clothes from previous occupant left in a cupboard in our room, only one set of towels provided in twin room and we only had adequate milk for one cup of tea (also only one teaspoon in each room). These things were sorted when we asked, but it always makes you feel a bit awkward. The shower in the double room we had only came out as a trickle, and there were hairs in the plug hole, but didn't like to complain about anything else! Had to find someone to say goodbye to when we left, as we always like to say thank you for our stay - did feel a little impersonal for a guest house, but as we only stayed one night this may have been different if we had stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thanks for your mostly good review.
The reason that you were short of towels and milk was that the room had been set up for single occupancy. When you arrived with your partner this was inadvertently overlooked but easily remedied.
Sorry we were not around to see you off we would all be busy servicing the rooms for the next visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

The Castle View Guest House is well situated in Durham.The room we had was no 6 right on the top floor overlooking the working man's club which isn't a problem it was a Saturday night and it was very quiet from inside the room ,even the students going back after a night out could hardly be heard.The room was perfect and well decorated with a large shower in a smart modern looking bathroom there was also extra blankets if needed which we didn't the bed was huge and a nice warm duvet to finish it off .All the people we met up with were all polite and nice in the guest house.Breakfast was more than ample with a good choice to be had ,we opted for the cooked breakfast which was great and filling. Would we stay here again or recommend the Castle View Guest House then that would be a YES.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stevie19021972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for your kind review Stevie.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The location of this B&B is really good and we weren't bothered by the uphill walk to it as the benefit of this was a pleasant outlook. You need to remember this a university city so there was some disturbance from students passing by during the night but this was only on Saturday night which is not unsurprising and if anything just made me wish I was young again! The room on the top floor was nicely decorated and cosy with added touches such as cotton wool and make up mirror. The bathroom was modern and clean with a lovely big shower and enough surfaces for all our clutter. Bath sheets rather than the smaller bath towels were also provided which was appreciated and dressing gowns which although we didn't make use of them were a thoughtful touch. A comfy bed, big TV and armchair made us feel at home. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant front room but there was a slight shortage of tables as we had to go back to our room as all tables were taken and when on our return there still wasn't a table we waited in the armchairs in the dining room until a table was free. This was not a major problem but we felt a bit awkward watching others eat and felt they probably didn't want us watching them. That said, when a table was vacated it was quickly cleared and we were seated. It was obviously a very busy weekend and the extra items such as fruit salad were not being replenished at this point and had all gone. However, we had a very good cooked breakfast and plenty of toast and coffee. The second morning was better as there was a table free and more choice of additional items of food. Another lovely cooked breakfast was had and the lady doing the cooking can do eggs to perfection! All in all a good stay in a charming city.

Room tip: Room 6 was very pleasant
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Babybeatle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thanks for your detailed letter.
You are right it was a very busy day. It was made worse by extra young persons joining their parents for breakfast. Also sometimes it happens that all people come down together and then all can not be seated together but this is not often.
Any way alls we’ll that ends well so we’ll be glad to welcome you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews