We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Never seen such a special care with guests”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PedroHass...
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
“Never seen such a special care with guests”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It was an excellent weekend that we spent on Durham, in this apartment.
All the treats that were ready for has when we arrived and the owner meeting us at the station to drive us to the apartment really exceeded our expectations.
Besides the great quality of the location, furniture and literally everything about the apartment where we stayed!
So many thanks and congratulations for the hospitality.
You'll surely go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
"Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone."
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie b
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“We stayed here while down to watch a rugby World Cup game in Newcastle - the apartment was excellent.”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Spotless, comfortable warm apartment only 100 yards from everything you'll need in Durham. Staying here made a good weekend even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and comfortable
Liked least: ther was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JECW_57
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a fabulous apartment - beautifully decorated and furnished, and with every convenience you could possibly wish for - comfortable beds, bathrobes, lovely toiletries, spotlessly clean, and a very welcome 'welcome pack'! The owners (and their charming daughter) were so helpful. The location is second to none for exploring Durham.

The only reason I haven't given it five stars is that our stay was rather spoilt by disturbance in the evenings - discos, bands and a very noisy 'party boat' sailing past at regular intervals. This may all be because we stayed during 'Freshers Week' when the students are celebrating loudly. No other reviewer has mentioned noise so I think we were just unlucky!

Apart from the noise, it would have been hard to find a nicer apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your incredible comments and kind words. It has been our aim since inception to provide a homely and comfortable environment in which our guests can relax. Your positive feedback confirms we are achieving this. We do highlight on our website that this is a city centre location with bars and restaurants near by and unfortunately we have no control the antics of students during fresher's week in Durham University City. Will not rest on our laurels and seek to constantly improve the experience for all who choose to stay with us and return.

Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark n
2 reviews
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is absolutely stunning, from the first moment I booked to the day we left the owners made it a wonderful experience.
From the welcome basket, coffee and lovely comfortable beds to the location which is perfect.
We travelled with a three year old from Australia (not easy!) but this place was an ideal place to stay.
If you are looking for a place to stay in the area... This is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gg0161
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Durham!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a beautiful apartment only a few minutes walk from Durham centre, yet in a peaceful riverside location which makes relaxing so easy. The flat has all mod cons and is clean, comfortable and maintained to the highest standards by Chris and Wendy. It also has a secure underground parking space which means no worries hunting for a parking space, and allows you to take trips outside the town - we went to the coast one day. We loved sitting outside on the terrace, surrounded by green trees and watching the little rowing boats and ducks pass by on the river. We certainly recommend a stay here, and hope to return sometime in the not-too-distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your incredible comments and kind words. It has been our aim since inception to provide a homely and comfortable environment in which our guests can relax. Your positive feedback confirms we are achieving this, however we will not rest on our laurels and seek to constantly improve the experience for all who choose to stay with us and return.

Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing