We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base from which to explore Durham City and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
96 reviews
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Original Artwork in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Slipper Bath and Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Rleaxing Living Room in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sunshine in Durham!
Feature Spiral Staircase in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Hydro-Massage Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sumptuous Double Bed in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Stylish Dining Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Historic Street View from Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Upstairs Lounging Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Ultimate 5-sytar relaxation in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Recline on the Drift Chair in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base from which to explore Durham City and surrounding area”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I took my two grandchildren aged 9 and 6 years to Durham intending to introduce them to the area. My mother was born and raised in Hetton-Le-Hole and I wanted them to see some of their heritage. Moonlight Apartment is in an excellent position from which to explore the City centre on foot leaving the car in the secure car park. The Cathedral, The Castle, The DLI Museum are all in walking distance as were a great selection of places to eat. Beamish is less than a 30 minute drive away as was the Coast and outlying villages.
Moonlight apartment was well equipped and a much better option and value than a hotel for the three of us. There were some minor issues if you want to find fault but nothing that detracted from a great stay. Yes the bedrooms on second and third floors face out onto a main road and there is some noise but nothing significant. We stayed during the Easter holiday period and the University was closed so not many students about.
All in all a great apartment in a great city centre location.
The Grandchildren voted it the best break yet and are pestering me for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation, Secure parking, Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsnest...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Apartment, Great Location”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After following the very clear directions that were emailed to us in advance, we arrived at the modern apartment block to be met by Ray who let us into the secure underground parking and took us up to the second floor flat. Ray showed us around the facilities and pointed out the very comprehensive information book which included his personal opinions on the main eateries in the town which he has been frequenting for over twenty years. The rental was lovely and is situated just off Elvet Bridge, a minute's walk to the High Street, which meant that the car could stay where it was for a couple of days whilst we got to know the town on foot! Plenty of room for my husband, myself and two strapping teenagers, they particularly liked the spacious twin bedroom with a seperate area with a day bed and tv. There was also a tv in the lounge. The main bedroom also had a tv and a a very comfortable bed. Shower good, nice decor throughout. Would rent this property again if revisiting Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to centre of town
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurelie e
1 review
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

First of all, I stayed there with my husband and 2 very young children (8 weeks old and 3 years old). 2 nights.
Great location. Added bonus of secure underground parking. Some crisps, wine, maltesers were waiting for us when we got there. Nice touch. Sharon greeted us and was lovely.
Apartment has 1 double bedroom, 1 sleeping space in the mezzanine (with 2 single beds and 1 day bed). So can easily sleeps up to 4 or 5 people. The living accommodation is big too.
Our daughter loved the spiral staircase. She was told not to go down too fast, and she never fell. Perfectly fine. Beds are comfortable.
In terms of noise, the flat is located on the main road. Yes a little noisy but nothing major, what you would expect from a City centre location....
It is well furnish and caters well for short stays.
The only downside for me was the cleanliness of the flat. It was ok but for the price, I would have expected it to be spotless. it is in need of a good dusting everywhere, inclusive of the ceiling lights in the living room and the plug in the bathroom.

I would stay there again though.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHD
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stylish apartment in Durham centre”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the apartment to be very attractively furnished and handily located for the centre. But it did have cleanliness and maintenance issues, which detracted from our one night stay. Ray is a great host and dealt with these very fairly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings and decor
Liked least: Cleanliness and maintenance issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
It was very useful to get the detailed feedback from this helpful guest in Moonlight Apartment. We knew we had some necessary repainting to fit in between reservations, but the other bits of advice have helped us make sure we maintain that 5-star standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seano3
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall this is a great apartment”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

First - this is a great apartment. We had a few issues on arrival, but we will certainly go back. As I am sure the problems we had will be rectified.

The apartment had not been cleaned....the shower was not clean and the bedsheets (certainly in the single beds) had not been changed - In fairness Ray came immediately and rectified but it left us wondering if for example the bath robes etc were as clean as they should be.....we decided not to use them!
Remember this is not a budget vacation rental.

The parking was fab - the internet was great - the telly was good and we very quickly felt at home. Brilliant Electric fire ....and Ray very kindly provided crisps wine and chocolate which was perfect and a very nice touch.... only spoiled by half a packet of butter (fresh) but with a thumbprint on, and other people's half used jams in the fridge....which I still find quite incredible!

I think the apartment was so nearly excellent that these things seemed quite annoying, and I hope we were just unlucky. The broken chair in the living room for example I would expect in a lesser property but it should be repaired or binned. I would also expect to find salt and pepper (we had only the latter), and the wherewithal to clean dishes in the sink. The dishwasher worked brilliantly and there were supplies for it...but the fact that we only had 4 forks did necessitate use of more manual cleaning procedures.

The washing machine was also a most very welcome bonus.

Yes as others have said it is noisy....but its in the centre of town so a small price to pay for such a good location. The flat was lovely and warm, and there was plenty of hot water.
The mattress in the double bed was soft which for me was just perfect.

On a personal note the hundreds of old bottles on top of the kitchen cabinets do nothing other than make a slight smell of old wine, collect dust, and look like a bottle bank that is full...but thats a personal taste thing?

Overall, the things of which I mention above are relatively small logistics issues, and I am sure others may not have the same problems - as this is advertised as a luxury apartment the tiny things are important. Ray was obliging and helpful and I know he reads these...so I hope he sees this as constructive and fair.....and as I said at the top..THIS IS A GREAT APARTMENT...and we would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities in apartment
Liked least: empty bottles in kitchen and old jam in fridge
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Moonlight Apartment so fairly: I'm glad you found it attractive, and really pleased you gave us the chance to fix the problems promptly. Our housekeeper apologises, and admits she was working against a bit of time stress that day. We have bitten the bullet and ordered some 'proper' mini-jams; and butter is now supplied in its original wrapping. I think we may rationalise the bottle collection down to just the best ones!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$122
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing