We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The hotel is situated right in the centre of the University town of Durham in the North East of England. There are many amenities within easy walking distance of the hotel; including Durham Cathedral, the University, the riverbank walk, marketplace and the shopping centre. The roads are straightforward to navigate and Durham is ideal if you don't want to hire a taxi to get around. The Marriott was not exceptional or remarkable in any way but provided a professional and satisfactory service.

Room Tip: Facing the town but beware of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

So after stopping here 4 years ago and vowing to never return (despite being regular Marriott customers) we decided to give it another go as were looking for somewhere to stay the night with our 2 children and most places were full / had no family rooms left.
I have to say that our stay was definitely better than our previous one, however this hotel is desperate for someone to spent some money on it.
Our room was unbarebly hot through the night - something the hotel is aware of (they had 2 plug in fans in there, and we did ring reception to ask if there was any air-con but were told that was what the fans were for. This did affect our sleep considerably.
The room itself was fine, overlooking the river.
We enjoyed the swimming pool.
Location is great!
As with our previous stay - nobody asked us how our stay was when we checked out (I'm assuming they are all fed up of complaints). We did mention the fact we were very tired due to having a terrible sleep - staf weren't interested at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read about your discomfort with the room and if you were not asked about your stay on check-out as it is important to know that every guest has been satisfied with their stay. We do hope that you will again decide to stay here at Marriott on your next trip to Durham where we look forward to being of service to you.
Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

2 night stay . Location wise hotel is perfect with great views of castle and cathedral. £7 a night car park but get the impression mostly used by shoppers on a Saturday afternoon. The suite has a small kitchen which is very handy ( a microwave would have been perfect in there) . Nice spacious rooms with seperate lounge and bedroom

Hotel is very dated and is in the need of significant investment ( no contactless payment , very very slow computers ) but I presume part of the hotel is in listed building so hands may well be tied.

Staff very friendly and helpful when checking in . ( service with a smile! )
However when checking out . the receptionist , very rude and abrupt which spoilt the end of a nice trip

Despite a very dated hotel and one rude Marriott receptionist would probably stay again mostly due to location and majority of helpful staff Also having a pool attached to the hotel very nice indeed

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank milkybarkid1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're sorry the hotel did not fully meet your expectations on this visit. It is disappointing that you felt one of our team was unhelpful towards you and assure you of our commitment to providing the highest levels of customer service at all times.
We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and look forward to improving your experience.
Warm regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Very central and surprisingly quiet through the night given the location and it was freshers week!

Received a complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Quick and efficient check by friendly staff.

Booked a family room (4 of us)

Very spacious with lounge area and sofa, large TV, dresser & mirror. 2 double beds, wardrobe, drawers and another large TV. Comfy beds & pillows and had a settled night.

Shower & bath available thou only 3 towels provided (we made do without so didn't report) that said the staff were very attentive so I'm sure this would have been rectified quickly.

Excellent rate too. Would defo return & recommend

Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tracydenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was our second trip back to this hotel. This time was to drop our daughter off to uni and its location was perfect. That's where the perfection stopped however. The hotel no doubt prides itself in hiring passive aggressive staff. First of all we agreed the pay £7.00 to park our car overnight (surprising as we were guests) then we had to nip into town to buy something we had forgotten. I asked at reception whether they would hold our space as I could see other families arriving ready to deposit their children. I was told this was impossible and that the policy was that if it were full then we would have to pay again at the multi-park nearby. I replied ok I had better dash then if I am to maintain my spot to which the helpful lady said "oh don't hurry we don't want you to have an accident" 'Oh so you will hold my space then" I said excitedly. "No" came the firm answer.
Later on we went to the hotel' restaurant for supper, given it was mayhem outside. We waited 45 minutes until our first course plates were collected. The main course was terrible, my husband sent it back to the kitchen. 30 minutes later nothing came back so we paid for what we had eaten and left. Leaving the manager had a pathetic look on his face as he apologised that we were disappointed and hoped we had an enjoyable rest of the evening!!!
The following morning as we were checking out another couple were standing by the reception. They were heading out but were worried that they would lose their parking space.'No worries we will put some cones out to ensure your place is safe". Said the eager receptionist. I took the photo of her doing so. I wonder whether the policy changed because they were white. Would I return NEVER. This treatment has to stop.I guess three years of our money wasn't good enough.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We're sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay. Should you wish to discuss your concerns, we invite you to contact the Hotel Management Office.
Warm regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.7 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,196 reviews
4.2 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.8 km away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
561 reviews
4.5 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: €81 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing