We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 Star!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here last night, first and last time - got off to a bad start as I had emailed to request a quite room away from the function room / bar etc... we were allocated room 211 next door to function room - with a lovely view of the bins and car park!! I wasnt satisfied with this at £99 room only and requested a new room, we were allocated room 314 not of the same standard that we had paid for but with a much nicer view, the bedding didnt smell clean, carpet hadnt been hoovered for a while and generally the decor was circa 1990. The Pemberton Bar and Carvery is probably the best thing about the hotel and the lounge singer and Pianist were fantastic. We declined breakfast at an eye watering £12.95 per person !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I'm so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your standard of accommodation, we take great pride in our accommodation at Ramside, we are always updating and improving our rooms and aim to have the highest standard of bedrooms.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished Pembertons Carvery and Entertainment, we feel it makes our dining facilities unique.

I sincerely hope that you will consider a return visit Ramside Hall Hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    518
    175
    80
    63
See reviews for
326
835
37
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I attended a wedding and stayed overnight - a lovely hotel in nice grounds, all of the areas we visited during the wedding were clean, welcoming and homely. The room was a good size, clean and with comfy beds - I would recommend Ramside for Sunday lunch as well - all in all, a good value hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear how much you loved the hotel and Sunday Lunch and I certainly hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a 2 night stay and had bought a great value package that included dinner both nights. The dinner in the package was an allowance per head in the Rib Room Steakhouse & Grill, but we had no problem keeping within this as we only wanted 2 courses each. The prices for the evening meals reflect the good food quality. The hotel makes a speciality of steak and it was really good. But there is plenty of choice for non red meat eaters. Little tip, some meals come with vegetables, you won't need much more with these and consider sharing a portion if you do need extra vegetables as they are priced separately and are a good size each.
We have never been so warmly welcomed when checking in to a hotel, as we were by the reception at Ramside. After a 4 hour drive, you just want someone to spend a little time and explain things and be friendly with it, reception was all that and more.
We had asked for a quiet room and the one we had was fine. It was a superior double and the room was a really good size with extra seating and a coffee table as well as a desk to work from. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was well appointed and everything worked. The light comes on automatically which took a bit of getting used to (bit of a shock - middle of the night), but it was ok. We found that the heating was adjusted by turning the radiator valve, but the room was really warm when we arrived (needed that in January).
Buffet breakfast, only criticism was that items ran out quickly as there seemed to be some difficulty in keeping up with the cooked food. But the choice was good. One morning, honey on the honey comb, as part of the jam/spread selection which I have never seen in a hotel before.
I stayed in the room during the day whilst the 'other half' was out on business and met the cleaning staff and they were lovely too!
Overall we had an excellent 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Just email the hotel and explain what you want, they reply promptly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FordPumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear how pleased you were with the staff, food and overall service and comfort of accommodation available and I certainly hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

I'm so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your breakfast, we take great pride in our dining facilities at Ramside, The Pembertons Carvery, where breakfast is served, has recently been refurbished and we aim to serve the highest quality food with the highest quality service in both the Pembertons Carvery and Rib Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I only stayed for one night on business & didn't have time to make use of all the facilities but would recommend the hotel.
Massive beds, great ensuite and the food from the room service menu was excellent. Very handy for Durham & Sunderland - 10 mins to A19 2 mins from A1

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWKTJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear how pleased you were with the overall service and comfort of accommodation available and I certainly hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

We're very proud of the standard of our accomodation and variety of our room service menu and our undoubtedly fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

stayed here for one night 12th feb ,smooth check in nice friendly staff,ate at the rib room on the night can honestly say it was the best steak we had eaten drinks a bit pricey £4,15 for a pint of strongbow!! lovely full english breakfast the next morning,had a lovely deluxe room with a huge bath big enough for 2 lol,would defo stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuandmandyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
4.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7.0 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
4.1 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
7.9 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa Durham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing