We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal. ”
Review of Oscar’s

Oscar’s
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The finest place to eat in Cumbria's Southern Peninsula Welcome to an easier, more pleasurable dining experience. At Oscar's you will enjoy the best food, the best drinks, the best service and, of course, the best surroundings in South Cumbria. ...from start to finish, whether you're here for drinks and nibbles or your most special celebration,we hope you enjoy everything Oscar's has to offer. All of our meat carries the Red Tractor Assurance, so you'll know it's guaranteed British. All of our fish are from suppliers registered with the Marine Stewardship Council, certified sustainable with full traceability direct to the vessel it was landed from. Oscar's prepares and serves food simply yet differently,with the finest local ingredients available. If you have any allergies or specific dietary requirements, please inform our dedicated team, we will do our utmost to accommodate. Our food is freshly prepared in a kitchen that uses nuts and seafood. Thank you for dining at Oscar's
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food with brilliant staff. Food is the highest standard. Good for kids to as the staff was great with them.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank lowey180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Oscar’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Lowey180,
Thanks for your lovely feedback, I hope to see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Many thanks,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Went for the 2nd time in a matter of weeks for Sunday Lunch. Again Beautiful had the roast Ham again with soup to start. Asked for a certain table it was occupied but got the one opposite which we were very happy with. Lovely food lovely Building. Love this place

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Mro5Bro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Oscar’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Mro5Bro,
Thanks very much indeed for your lovely review, much appreciated! We do do a great roast ham! I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Nice drinks too and lovely atmosphere. Fish and chips were amazing would advise booking in advance of your stay to ensure u get in. Looking forward to visiting again in a few weeks

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Paulstacey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Oscar’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Paulstacey7,
Thanks very much for your Oscar's feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Great place, good value and delicious food in lovely setting. Quite busy but staff were friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank CherryAnne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Oscar’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear CherryAnne21,
Thanks for your lovely feedback, I hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Warm Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We were married at this venue a year ago and we couldn't fault anything at all, so it made perfect sense to us to have our anniversary dinner here. It was very disappointing indeed.

First, we were seated at a table that had been shoe-horned in as an afterthought at the entrance to the room. Next, the menu is a bizarre collection of mostly whacky sounding dishes like "STUFFED SADDLE OF RABBIT", "JIM BEAM SMOKED RIBS" and "BEER BATTERED HADDOCK". One of the "specials" was "Beef Duo", one of the main constituents of which was not beef.

I'm quite an adventurous diner but I didn't like the sound of most of it, so I plumped for the "21 DAY AGED SHORT RIB, PULLED FEATHERBLADE, ALE & MUSHROOM PIE" and my wife chose one of the specials, essentially a chicken pie. The content of the "featherblade" pie was okay but the pastry was like concrete, as was that of the chicken pie, the filling of which was bland and flavourless and was served with beef gravy.

The service from the waiter was good, but my wife's polite complaint about her food to the manageress when she asked if we'd enjoyed our meal was met with indifference. We expected perhaps a complimentary cocktail and some words of comfort but nothing at all was offered.

When it came to paying using my bank card, there was a default service charge of 5% which you could change to a higher value but not remove. Since I'd tipped the waiter in cash, I told the manageress that I wanted the service charge removed, which made her even more frosty with us.

The upshot of all this is that we won't be back to dine here ever again, and the memory of our perfect day a year ago has now become slightly tainted as a result.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilbyforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHouseHotel, General Manager at Oscar’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear wilbyforce.
I was sorry to read that you didn't 'get' our award winning menu at Oscar's. I have never utilised a mandatory service charge in the hotel and would welcome your feedback directly to john@abbeyhousehotel.com.
Kind Regards,
John Horton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar’s also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to Oscar’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing