We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Choccobar

Choccobar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
Description: ChoccoBar is an independent, contemporary coffee shop & hot chocolate house offering all the usual coffee shop refinements with a few light bites, great cakes & gorgeous waffles. The similarity stops there! As you may realise from the name, ChoccoBar specialises in REAL Hot Chocolate but with a twist. Our chocolate is made continental style, thick & Indulgent. We use a blend of real Belgian chocolate without the use of any powders so its good all the way to the bottom. The 'twist' is that we also offer a wide range of flavour essences to add a unique dimension to your drinking experience. 'Chocolate to talk about' To find us: we're in the middle of Quarry Rigg Shopping Centre, just off Lake Road, Bowness. The neares public car park is by the cinema LA23 3BJ 40m away from us or on street parking.
Restaurant details
Description: ChoccoBar is an independent, contemporary coffee shop & hot chocolate house offering all the usual coffee shop refinements with a few light bites, great cakes & gorgeous waffles. The similarity stops there! As you may realise from the name, ChoccoBar specialises in REAL Hot Chocolate but with a twist. Our chocolate is made continental style, thick & Indulgent. We use a blend of real Belgian chocolate without the use of any powders so its good all the way to the bottom. The 'twist' is that we also offer a wide range of flavour essences to add a unique dimension to your drinking experience. 'Chocolate to talk about' To find us: we're in the middle of Quarry Rigg Shopping Centre, just off Lake Road, Bowness. The neares public car park is by the cinema LA23 3BJ 40m away from us or on street parking.
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Visiting the lakes for a few days and we fancied a coffee we stumbled across Choccobar and wow we weren't disappointed me and my partner got our coffee and ordered a waffle each If i knew the size we'd have got one to share they were huge but tasted absolutely amazing..the staff in the shop were polite and made time to talk to visitors I have recommended this place highly to family and friends and you will be our first stop next time we visit
YOU MUST VISIT THIS PLACE....CHOCOLATE HEAVEN!!

1  Thank Beccalindaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for giving us a Wow too! It’s always lovely to read that we manage to exceed expectations, prompt such generous comments & to be good enough for being recommended to family & friends
We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Bowness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 178 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We visited here with 3 generations of our family. The staff could not have been more helpful. We settled on Panini's and Waffles. The filling in the Panini's was very good and plentiful. After the Panini's we were glad we had decided to share two waffles between the 5 of us, again the toppings were plentiful and delicious. Wish we had time to revisit on this holiday but alas we ran out of time, but rest assured the next time we are in Windermere we know where we will be going for lunch.

1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for the review & kind comments We often find our waffles & chocolate receive great praise so it was terrific reading how you enjoyed the Panini’s too.
From your comments it sound like we’ll be seeing you again when you revisit the area. In the mean time please keep spreading the word

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here whilst visiting Bowness for the day, on discovering only paninis and toasties on the menu (which we had and were delicious) the staff very kindly made our one 1 year old granddaughter a plain cheese sandwich. Great friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere

1  Thank Jayne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you Jayne for leaving us your comments. We will always try wherever possible to accommodate any special requests. We don’t offer a specific children’s menu as such but the children always seam to leave very happy
We hope to see you all again & please keep spreading the ChoccoBar word

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The staff is very friendly, we received a sample to try the hot choclate before pay. I get the large one with Bayles. It was fantastic. Tomorrow I'll come back for the waffles

Tomorrow I'll

1  Thank lmaturana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for the review Leonardo we appreciate the 5*. Hope the waffl left the same fantastic impression

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

The best hot chocolate ive ever had! We called in for a quick pint stop and loved the place. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and a chocoholics dream come true.
I loved having the chance to taste the different flavours. Opted for Venison which went down a treat and topped off with sttawberrries and some toblerone cake. A great concept, fantastically carried out.

1  Thank sonofsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark and Radana T, Owner at Choccobar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments & 5* review . To say we have “the best hot chocolate”you’d ever tasted is an amazing comment & one we like to continue delivering to all. Surprisingly, the venison flavour is always up in our top 5 flavours but it is a flavour you either like or you don’t
Keep spreading he word & we hope to see you all again next I’m your in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choccobar also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Choccobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing