We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and cakes”
Review of Blackwell Tea Room

Blackwell Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 December 2017

A good adjunct to the main attraction, the cafe serves coffees and light lunches. We simply had coffee and would have probably stayed for lunch but the boiler was broken and it was too cold to sit around.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your review - we were experiencing some issues with our boiler after Christmas, but we have a nice shiny new one and the house and Tea Room are much more ambient and conducive to lingering a while. Hopefully you will be able to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017

You have to book and say what you want for Christmas Lunch as it's made to order. As usual the food quality was high in a great setting and the staff very courteous. We visit here quite often and enjoy its peacful air, mainly older visitors out of school holidays.

After the meal we had a guided tour of the house which has a view over the lake. There's a good shop if you're looking for a stylish Arts and Craft piece.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterQ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your lovey review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Blackwell at Christmas.

Our chefs work extremely hard to create and bake some seriously delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back again before next Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Three of us had lunch here recently. We all had something different, we all enjoyed our choices, excellent.

Thank yrbancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake some very delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Waitress service serving locally sauced products. The cakes looked fantastic. this is quite a large tearoom which offers indoor and outdoor seating. Reasonably priced/

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your lovey review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake some very delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

On a sunny day the views are spectacular and we have lots of seating outside from March onwards, so hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We visited for coffee and scones before viewing the very pretty house. The house is slightly out of the town centre and has its own free parking, which is a bonus. The tearoom decor is attractive and service was cheerful and efficient. Cakes on display and open sandwiches coming out of the kitchen looked good for another visit. You can visit the tearoom and shop without paying to tour the house.

1  Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland-Arts, General Manager at Blackwell Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thanks for your lovey review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Our chefs come in bright and early to create and bake some very delicious food, so it is always good to know it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwell Tea Room also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Blackwell Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing