We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
274
98
50
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
98
50
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room on arrival lake district full english four poster bed lovely hotel min walk easy walking distance bottle of prosecco smoked salmon breakfast was excellent stayed here for nights cooked breakfast choice of cereals two night stay lovely room lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Great setting in between Windermere and bowness, walking distance to both around 10/15 minutes down to the lake. Small rooms but very cosy with everything you need. Extra blankets and throws available along with tea and coffee facilities as you would expect. Location is on the main road however most guest houses/ hotels are.

We didn’t stay for breakfast but this was included. Also access to a spa in another hotel is allowed when staying here something we didn’t know until check in, wish we had brought our swim shorts!

Would stay here again due to the reasonable price, the location and cleanliness.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Good location for lake and surrounding attractions. Our room was spotless couldn't fault a thing Breakfast excellent staff pleasant and welcoming. We would certainly stay here again. Just to mention that you can use the spa facilities at a near by hotel free of charge. which is not advertised in the hotel description but we felt is an added bonus.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Katey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night through the week, our room was situated on the ground floor (room 2)
Lovely room, clean and comfortable!
The bathroom is on the smaller side but it didn’t really bother us !
When we arrived we were told about being able to use the spa as this wasn’t a advertised we didn’t bring any swimwear so didn’t get to experience it ! This definitely needs advertising as is a great perk !!

We drove the both towns and you could park on the side roads in both !
The staff were very nice, breakfast was on point, my partner had a full English and I helped myself to cereal and fruit on the breakfast bar, They have a small cooked menu but it does state to ask if you would like something else.
We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 19srm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Nice locations between Bowness and Windermere giving you only a short walk to either location.
Nice welcome on arrival and the room was nice, modern with very good WiFi, hot drink facility’s, iron and board.
I enjoyed my full English my partners who’s a veggie wasn’t to keen.
Enjoyed our stay and we would defiantly stay there again

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bunning04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

We booked out 2 rooms at the Woodlands Lodge and were very happy with our choice. The Woodlands is well located with Bowness only 10 minutes down the road and Windermere town 5 minutes stroll away, both walkable.
We arrived at the Woodlands 2 hours earlier than expected and unfortunately our room wasn’t ready, however we were able to use the bathroom in reception before scoping out the area.
We returned back to the Woodlands at half 2 to check in, I can’t remember the lady’s name, however she was very polite and provided us with a map. We were also invited to use a spa at another hotel just outside of Bowness. This was a wonderful surprise and this is available to all guests staying here. I do feel the free spa access needs some advertisement as this is a great perk of the guesthouse. We continued to rush out to buy some swimwear to ensure we took advantage of the offer!
Our rooms were situated on the 1st floor and we were located next door to one another which was nice as we checked in as a group. Our room overlooked the stream at the back of the hotel which was so nice listening to at night. I understand this may not be for everyone, so luckily you can only hear it when the window is open. The bathroom is rather small, however you get a powerful shower and plenty of towels.
Our mattress was super comfortable, you get tea, coffee, biscuits and water which was a nice touch. I personally wasn’t a fan of the pillows, felt a bit flat, however you can ask for more pillows at reception.
Our friends’ room looked out to the front of the building and they had triple glazed the glass to stop the street noise. They both agreed it did the job and were equally pleased with the room.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely, you get fresh tea and coffee, selection of toast. Plenty of cereals, pastries and yoghurts which were nice to see.
We each tried the full English, well presented, I did ask for extra beans the next day and the chef on the 2nd morning didn’t quite polish the poached eggs as much as the day before! I’m not the type to complain though and of course finished the lot!
One of our friends also tried the pancakes and the salmon which looked to die for!
We would not hesitate to book here again, for the location and free spa – this is a great place to stay!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews