We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
266
97
50
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
97
50
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room on arrival lake district full english guest house four poster min walk lovely hotel easy walking distance bottle of prosecco breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast poster bed smoked salmon two night stay stayed here for nights lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.
The rooms are comfortable,spotlessly clean and well appointed.
The en suite was a little small but adequate again spotless.
The hotel has a small but well stocked bar.
Breakfast is served in lovely dining room with white table cloths cooked fresh to order which is something not found in the bigger chains.
There is also plenty of variety on the menu.
The hotel is situated halfway between Windermere and Bo ness
Easy walking distance to both.
Finally my compliments to all staff who are pleasant polite and very informative.
Thank you for making our stay a pleasant one

Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Booked this last minute as hotel we were in wasn’t up to standard.
Good welcome, we had room 17 at back of hotel, very spacious lovely and warm.
Chocolates on bed and great selection of tea/coffee/chocolate.
Very quiet, ten min walk in to Windermere and 20 mins walk to water front.
Breakfast was brilliant.
We used local taxis lakeside just minimum spend £3.50 if you can’t be bothered to climb hill back up

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JanineM1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Booked this last minute and was really impressed by the hotel. Lovely room with large bathroom. All staff we met were great and more than happy to help with anything. Breakfast was great. A perfect breakfast to kick start your day in Windermere. A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. Definitely book again next time we visit Windermere

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkC2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Great location just a short walk into Windermere and easy to get down to the lake either a 15 min walk downhill or a bus which runs regularly. Lovely breakfast, helpful staff and a lovely quiet but friendly atmosphere. Only reason not 5* given is the bed was too soft for us and gave us backache and there was no bath only a shower, apparently the executive rooms do have baths.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We have just returned from the Woodlands after staying for two nights. The hotel is ideally located between Winderemere and Bowness. We walked into both during the day and evening.
Our room was clean and warm, no need to turn radiator on!
We enjoyed a full English breakfast both mornings, so much so we couldn't eat lunch!
Overall a pleasant stay. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Superchews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews