We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
274
98
50
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
98
50
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room on arrival lake district full english four poster bed lovely hotel min walk easy walking distance bottle of prosecco smoked salmon breakfast was excellent stayed here for nights cooked breakfast choice of cereals two night stay lovely room lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Great location just a short walk into Windermere and easy to get down to the lake either a 15 min walk downhill or a bus which runs regularly. Lovely breakfast, helpful staff and a lovely quiet but friendly atmosphere. Only reason not 5* given is the bed was too soft for us and gave us backache and there was no bath only a shower, apparently the executive rooms do have baths.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We have just returned from the Woodlands after staying for two nights. The hotel is ideally located between Winderemere and Bowness. We walked into both during the day and evening.
Our room was clean and warm, no need to turn radiator on!
We enjoyed a full English breakfast both mornings, so much so we couldn't eat lunch!
Overall a pleasant stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Superchews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. The lady who welcomed us (Erica I think) was really lovely and keen to give us advice about the local area. The bedroom was well kitted out and spacious but as other travellers have said, I'm not sure this is a 5 star property (decor bit run down in places) - but it deserves no less than 4 in my opinion. Location is good - closer to Windermere than Bowness. Breakfast is of a really high standard and the lady who was serving in the mornings (I think she was spanish? I didn't catch her name) is a real credit to the hotel - very hardworking, polite and friendly. Overall, a nice stay in the lakes!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Carnforth. This was our first stay here. Certainly not 5 star, more of a 3plus. Some areas need updating but like a lot of these old type houses come hotels, they need a lot of money to do so. Car parking spaces at front of hotel available.

Staff friendly. Room quite compact. Bed comfortable and clean. Wardrobe only had 3 coat hangers. Iron available but didn't see any ironing board. Tea/coffee facilities available with complementary water. Hairdryer available too. Room very warm and stuffy even without heating on!

Bathroom was really quite small and narrow. Shower was good. Plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was good. Would have preferred fresh fruit in the morning rather than tinned peaches, prunes and grapefruit. Husband had full English breakfast which he really enjoyed. This hotel only does breakfast - no evening meal available at all.

Hotel is well located, just walking distance into Windermere centre to shops and restaurants. Quite a number of restaurants to choose from and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Laura looked after our every need from buses to room and hearty cooked breakfast eith pots of tea and juices. Great location, walking distance to town and the lake quiet and good beds! Bathroom a little squeezy but plenty of hot water!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maurissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews