We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
270
98
50
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
98
50
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room on arrival full english lake district guest house four poster min walk lovely hotel easy walking distance bottle of prosecco breakfast was excellent poster bed cooked breakfast smoked salmon nothing is too much trouble two night stay stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We have just returned from the Woodlands after staying for two nights. The hotel is ideally located between Winderemere and Bowness. We walked into both during the day and evening.
Our room was clean and warm, no need to turn radiator on!
We enjoyed a full English breakfast both mornings, so much so we couldn't eat lunch!
Overall a pleasant stay. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Superchews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. The lady who welcomed us (Erica I think) was really lovely and keen to give us advice about the local area. The bedroom was well kitted out and spacious but as other travellers have said, I'm not sure this is a 5 star property (decor bit run down in places) - but it deserves no less than 4 in my opinion. Location is good - closer to Windermere than Bowness. Breakfast is of a really high standard and the lady who was serving in the mornings (I think she was spanish? I didn't catch her name) is a real credit to the hotel - very hardworking, polite and friendly. Overall, a nice stay in the lakes!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Just returned from a 2 day stay at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Carnforth. This was our first stay here. Certainly not 5 star, more of a 3plus. Some areas need updating but like a lot of these old type houses come hotels, they need a lot of money to do so. Car parking spaces at front of hotel available.

Staff friendly. Room quite compact. Bed comfortable and clean. Wardrobe only had 3 coat hangers. Iron available but didn't see any ironing board. Tea/coffee facilities available with complementary water. Hairdryer available too. Room very warm and stuffy even without heating on!

Bathroom was really quite small and narrow. Shower was good. Plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was good. Would have preferred fresh fruit in the morning rather than tinned peaches, prunes and grapefruit. Husband had full English breakfast which he really enjoyed. This hotel only does breakfast - no evening meal available at all.

Hotel is well located, just walking distance into Windermere centre to shops and restaurants. Quite a number of restaurants to choose from and reasonably priced.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Laura looked after our every need from buses to room and hearty cooked breakfast eith pots of tea and juices. Great location, walking distance to town and the lake quiet and good beds! Bathroom a little squeezy but plenty of hot water!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maurissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely guesthouse, a little updating needed. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff, although no-one there when we needed to check out to say goodbye. Bathroom was very small and not what expected from a 5* Guesthouse but perfectly adequate for what we needed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JessyStrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews