We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem and the staff amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

What a lovely Hotel a real gem from the moment we where greeted by Taryn with a charming smile and a nice offer of refreshments was great start. The room no 3 is lovely and a great bathroom. It was also lovely meeting Laura and the manager Sarah, we had a lovely conversation after we had finished our delicious breakfast she had cooked on both our 2 days stay its lovely when the manager takes an interest in her guests. The lounge is so comfortable and the decor is excellent. It was nice to meet Taryn as she is South African I could note the twang in her accent straight away nice to meet you. Another bonus at this hotel is that you get a parking space. Thanks for the lovely time regards Sue and Martin By the way a lovely place to eat is bodegas bar great tapas in bowness, T hole in t'wall real old charm and fab bar staff and the new ba ha a new bar in town great burgers just a tip for visitors to the area

Room Tip: Room 3 you get a view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanjohns999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on a short break in the Lake District. Everything impressed. The room was bright and clean, with a four poster bed in our case. The staff were friendly and highly attentive, accomodating to our needs admirably. Breakfast which was a full English breakfast, vegetarian options or cereals, was served in a lovely dining room, and the pancakes are highly recommended. The hotel was situated around 15 mins walk from Windermere station and around the same to Bowness on Windermere, the lake itself. We cannot recommend the Woodlands enough!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We booked the Woodlands Hotel as it was advertised as a 5* Hotel. Was slightly disappointed as if it is a 5* then we think it is looking a bit tired. Staff was very nice. Situated perfectly, very clean and excellent breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mossy316uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

The guest house is in a good location within 10 minutes walk to the centre of Windermere and 15-20 mins walk to Bowness and the Lake. The room was boutique style with a small ensuite shower room. The breakfast was really good and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and welcoming we would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JEMGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Very convenient for Bowness and Windermere, easy walking distance, downhill to Bowness, uphill to Windermere. Convenient bus stop, accepts bus passes. Hotel clean and tidy, staff very helpful breakfast most enjoyable, an excellent choice. Room a bit cramped but very comfortable. Pity it doesn't do evening meals but plenty of restaurants and bars near by to suit all tastes. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor, rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,137 reviews
0.3 km away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
767 reviews
0.9 km away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
833 reviews
0 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Address: New Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €98 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing