We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
206
88
24
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
88
24
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location car park full english both mornings friendly owners weekend break biscuits steep hill bars and restaurants breakfast was delicious couldn't do enough stayed for nights my partner night stay perfect stay guest house feel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

I had seen Laurel cottage on a visit to Bowness and decided to book a 2 night stay.
Received a very warm welcome from the hosts.
Room 15 was very clean and tidy excellent value for money and a decent Breakfast.
Would not hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank 421William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

A lovely place, Jody and Steve are putting a lot of effort into making their venue welcoming and friendly, amazing breakfast- quality food and tasty, and in the heart of all the action. Well worth a visit, thank you

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 3susanmichelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Loverly location and very friendly staff, also a very nice breakfast. However, I understand due to the type of building that they have to maintain the old periodic look of the building. But, the room was cluttered with useless furniture, space could have been better utilised by removing the chair and table etc. The worst part of the room was the bed, every movement was followed by a loud creek and the mattress was thin and very very soft and uncomfortable. Woke up with bad back after first day, parking was also not well planned. Great location though and flexible opening.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaveC3892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here and I have enjoyed several weeks. The rooms are tasteful decorated and the ensuite rooms of a good size. Tv screens good with signal. Looks like a family run business quiet informal.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank cliveb745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We had problems with family members up and down 3 Stories of stairs and decided to move hotels because there was no other rooms available which was fair enough. We were then promised if the room is taken then the manager/owner would look at some sort of reimbursement which was fair play which we understood and didn’t expect the full amount of £400.
When we contacted the hotel / cottage .... yes Cottage with 3 stories !! the following Monday we were then told that the rooms were never taken .... really in Bowness ?? So we were told that no refund or reimbursement will take place and we will lose the full £400.
We travel to the lakes 6 - 8 times per year and I’ve got to say the attitude of the manager / owner was very unprofessional and threatening Safe to say we won’t be using again. An event that could of been easily resolved with the correct attitude, resolution and courtesy.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Harry6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel01539445594, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Im sorry you had to write this review we have tried to help you as much as we can.
You first cancelled an non refundable booking days before you were due to arrive so although we don't have to move your dates or refund your money as stated on booking.com when you book.
We said don't worry, we will move your booking to another date.
On none of these occasions did you request no stairs, all of our rooms are upstairs. When you arrived at the later date we checked you in and you used the room for several hours, only later that night you decided that the room would not be suitable so we offered you a room lower down but this was not acceptable to you as it was a smaller room which was the only one left .
Then you asked for a refund which we did not have to offer as you booked a non refundable room and we had changed the date two times (we had done this out the kindess of our hearts) & lost money on the second weekend as it was so late in the day the room did not get rebooked, if it had of we would of refunded this amount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews