We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional bed and breakfast ”
Review of Elim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elim House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at Elim House. Traditional old B&b comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. Breakfast was great ! with a choice of cooked or continental. The continental was a croissant a bowl of very fresh fruit and a yoghurt of your choice, yummy. We stayed in room now at the front of the house nicely decorated and with a new mattress on the large double . Very comfortable and a good night's sleep. Would certainly stay here again. The new owner, Mark only took over two weeks ago and is already making improvements. Well done Mark and Thankyou Brian and Linda.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark1806, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you, Brian and Linda, for your kind comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I enjoyed meeting you. We hope to see you again. Best wishes Mark and Grace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We visited Elim house for 3 nights. We had previously visited Bowness - on- Windermere last August but had stayed at a B&B further out. Being 6 months pregnant we wanted something closer to the lake. The location is brilliant ! The new owner was helpful in catering for my gluten intolerant partner providing gluten free bread in the morning for breakfast! He was also interested in asking our opinion on certain improvements including would we have been willing to pay for guaranteed parking. The breakfast was very slow and a little disappointing when it arrived. Either a simple hot breakfast or fruit and yogurt and the fruit was a small portion. The bed was very uncomfortable and being 6 months pregnant I didn't get much sleep as you could feel every single spring. There was still a dirty towel hanging in the bathroom when we arrived (the owner did apologise) and the room was very cold and dated. There is also no guaranteed parking and not much alternative options of where to park. We also had to pay by cash due to some card machine issues. On the whole the owner is new and trying very hard! Nice welcome and hope that he will make the necessary improvements needed to make this a good value B&B but in its current state we would probably look elsewhere if we were to visit again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank evb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark1806, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks Lizzy for your comments. As you know I had only taken over the business less than a week before you stayed. I was very concerned about the issues you raised. The room now has a brand new quality mattress. I will be doing a major update over the next few months, but urgent things like poor mattresses have already been addressed. Breakfast has been generally very well received. I am sorry that it was not to your liking. Once again thank you for your input, which was helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Even though it had just changed hands and we had a nice welcome the room was very tired and dated. good location and good breakfast first morning but was a long long long wait on the second morning not coping with the numbers in the the B&B an getting orders wrong.

Room Tip: only good thing had some parking and close to the town lovely garden previous owner though I think!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

just had a 2 night stay at Elim, and have to say the best thing about the stay was the breakfast..

we stayed in room 4.. and at £95 a night, i expected something abit more comfortable. The bed i must say was better than our friends in room 3 (which was ready to collapse at any moment with the amount it looked unstable) however the Mattress was so thin, you could feel springs in it..

The shower are was musty as anything, and when we had a shower.. this didnt get much above luke warm. The other rooms 2 &3 was fine, they had hot running water.. but our was warm at best.... even with letting it run.

The TV was so very small..(must have been a 22" max) ..when chilling out prior to going out in an evening.

The owner.. she was friendly enough..but without sounding ageist.. i didnt wasnt to disappoint her with complaints.. Not somewhere i would intend to stop again.

Room Tip: dont choose Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark1806, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your review. Elim House is under new ownership since you stayed. We are carrying out a number of improvements over the next few months. The mattress has already been replaced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely!! Great place...loved our 4 poster room, warm and friendly host (who even knew it was my birthday lol) . Short walk into the town/attractions/ pubs etc and breakfast included! Adults only was a bonus....will deffo go back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your birthday break with us, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0 km away
Elim Lodge
Elim Lodge
#5 of 7 in Bowness-on-Windermere
115 reviews
0 km away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
61 reviews
0.7 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
141 reviews
0.3 km away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#27 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
302 reviews
0.1 km away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim House

Address: Elim House Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €74 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elim House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly & peaceful home from home with award winning garden, set in the heart of the English Lake district. Mark and Grace provide a warm welcome to all. We have garaging for Motor Cycle. Minimum 2 nights weekends, 3 nights Bank Holidays. All rooms are en-suite, some with 4 four poster beds and two with super-kingsize beds. Strictly adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Elim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Elim House Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing