We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb! Guest House”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Ian and Christine.
This was my second stay at your Guest House my first trip was a business trip arranged for me, and I was so impressed with how clean everywhere was, lovely and welcoming you both are and fab rooms!. I've returned again with my wife for our 10th Wedding Anniversary (thankyou for your kind card and excepting the flowers before our arrival) I shall be recommending you to friends and will certainly return in the near future.
There are no negitive's
keep up the excellent work you both put in....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Corkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
A big thank you for such a lovely review you wrote on Fair Rigg, we really appreciate you taking your time out to do this for us.
It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay again and also it was lovely meeting your wife.
Look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
149
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our 3rd stay at Fair Rigg which was as enjoyable as ever. The quality of mattresses in use here is why we continue to choose Fair Rigg as this lets down so many other places.
A bathroom with a bath is always very welcome after a tiring day. The whole place is spotlessly clean. There really is nothing to complain about or to dislike about this place.

Room Tip: The King Size beds are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Fair Rigg.
It was a pleasure for us having you both to stay and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had the most pleasant stay in Fair Rigg. The rooms were nice and clean and Ian and Christine were most friendly host ever!!! Excellent choice of breakfast, loads of maps to choose and owners were glad to go extra and give advice on places to go (we were specificity interested in cycling routes) or restaurants to eat, there is free WiFi, plenty of DVD's and books to choose from. They also let us keep our bicycles locked in their garage even after our stay in their B&B.
The B&B is only 10-15 minutes walking distance from main attractions and the views are spectacular. Would not recommend it for large and loud groups as you would ruin the calm and relaxing experience to other guests :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Many thanks for your very kind review, we are really pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Fair Rigg.
We always try to do as much as we can to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was our second visist to Fair Rigg and we found the same high standards had been maintained throughout. Our room was spotless, lovely sized bathroom with a decent sized bath.
Breakfasts were tasty, with plenty of choice as well as the usual full English option. We tried one of Ian's walks, and saw the best variety of wildlife ever!! We would definately return.
One word of caution, don't leave the radiators on all day as your room will be too warm when you get in.

Room Tip: Room one is at the front and has a great sized bed, with a good view across fields. Slight Lake vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wormcake101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing Fair Rigg. We are really pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Fair Rigg guest house for our anniversary and we were delighted with the house, the location and most of all the service. Ian and Christine helped to arrange all of the little extras over and above the high standard of service that made our anniversary stay in the Lake District the most memorable.

The room was excellent and the location placed us close enough to reach all the main attractions but gave a little distance to retreat.

Ian and Christine gave wonderful recommendations to both local restaurants and pubs. This was of great help as there was so much choice in Bowness and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor and above would be highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on the special occasion of your wedding anniversary, and thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review on Fair Rigg.
It was an absolute pleasure having you both to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.4 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
967 reviews
1.0 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
353 reviews
1.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,854 reviews
1.0 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Property: Fair Rigg Guest House
Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing