We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
15
9
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
9
4
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

All Good.
Telly could be a Bit Bigger!
David and Lyn have been very very helpful,it is nice that they have the personal touch,and We observed their helpfulness and friendliness to all the other guests.
Very trustworthy.
Our Family felt very safe.
We congratulate them on all levels.
We have experienced others and they can be just down right Rude .......
Very Refreshing,Not about The Money. 10/10 from Us.

Room Tip: Any Room is good
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank michaeljonathanv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Friendly staff who were great with kids. Breakfast to order, with cooked or cereal options. Children loved the 'castle' bunk beds in the family room. Was en-suite but more of a 'wet room', so when you used the shower the bathroom and toilet all got wet. Area seemed a bit run-down, but really convenient for takeaways, a local Boots and other local eateries/shops.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank SamanthaS3989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Location decent - a ten minute, pleasant walk to seafront and shops/bars. In some ways, preferable to being right on the seafront.
Owners extremely friendly and willing to accommodate reasonable requests. If you love chatting to the owners during your stay and over breakfast, this is the place for you.

The layout of the guest house is a little unusual. The stairs are narrow as you'd expect in an old house. Our room was en-suite with a wet room with a shower, toilet and basin that worked properly. The room itself had a double bed and some unusual built-in bunk beds.

The bunk beds have a castle design which makes them look fun, although there appears to be no ladder to climb safely. Instead there are a series of small shelves to use as foot holds. In my opinion, the top bunks are unsafe for guests to climb up and down.

The mattresses in each of the beds were rather uncomfortable and I would guess they have been in situ for a long time.

The shared bathroom is up a further flight of narrow stairs and is actually a pair of airing cupboards - one has been converted into a shower and the other has had a toilet installed. Each of the cupboards will fit one slim person only.

The decor is very dated, which was not a problem for us. The TV was the smallest I can remember seeing ever, which also wasn't a problem for us.

This property is probably not suitable for people with mobility issues or people who are large in size. However, it's an excellent place to go for a single person looking for a personal approach from the owners and for a bit of company too.

Breakfast was at 9am so not suitable for early starters. Many rooms are not en-suite so visitors should be careful when booking.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TivRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Just left Galway after spending 3 nights. Lovely room and spacious for a family of 6. Dave and Lynn were amazing hosts and we were sad to leave. Breakfast was lovely. And extra special thanks as they arranged to take our luggage to the coach for us to save us carrying it round on our last morning. We will definitely be back. Xx

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank monkeynuts182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Dave and Lyn were the perfect hosts. We were always greeted with warm smiles and generosity.

Our two daughters loved the castle beds in our family room, and the whole place was family friendly yet perfect for couples wanting a quiet stay.

The wet room style bathroom was clean, and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we started each day full and satisfied.

We would highly recommend the Galway Guesthouse. It is a 5 min walk from the town centre and a further 2 mins to the sea front.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank simononguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews