We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New Years Eve break in the Royal Hotel 2011” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Years Eve break in the Royal Hotel 2011”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We booked a self drive break to celebrate the New year in Weymouth. We stayed in a sea view room on the third floor and our room had an "electric toilet" which made a dreadful loud noise everytime it is flushed. Im sure people on the second floor below us could hear every time we flushed the toilet. The room was clean and tidy but needed updating especially in the bathroom.
We asked for second sitting for our evening meal and had to wait for the table to be cleaned after the first sitting most nights. The coffee then was always cold as it was made for the first sitting and while we were there no fresh coffee was every made. At breakfast time we had to wait 20 minutes one morning for a table to be cleaned and someone to serve us. We varied our times just in case lots of people were going at a set time but whenever we arrived for breakfast the tables were always full of dirty breakfast dishes and we always had to wait more than 10 minuted for the table to be cleaned. One couple walked out during breakfast as they got fed up of waiting to be served! We appreciate that the hotel was busy but they should expect this for New Years Eve Breaks.
The bar and foyer has been updated but the hotel is nearly full for the Olympic games taking place during the summer months for sailing in the bay. I do hope that by then they deal with the problem of waiting for clean tables during dinner and breakfast as this is letting the hotel down greatly!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guest732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank You for your comments regarding your stay. I’m sorry you had to wait for your breakfast. I have passed your comments over to the restaurant manager who is working more effectively with the team to deliver a faster service to the customers, not only for the Olympics but permanently. I am also sorry to hear about your coffee being cold. If you had reported this one of our friendly staff would have rectified this for you immediately. Our staff work very hard during extremely busy periods to deliver a excellent service. Should you return I hope you will benefit from the improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    131
    99
    42
    29
See reviews for
60
203
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Have just returned from a New Year Break at The Royal. Can honestly say the hotel position is second to none. Lovely level promenade for walks in either direction. Only problem was the weather! Hotel was lovely, full of history. Redecoration has been carried out to main public rooms. My bedroom, single, was on the fourth floor with lovely views across the sea and bay. Well furnished , comfortable and clean. Well done to Marie for her housekeeping. All the staff were friendly and polite. The only hiccup was at the breakfast session on our first day. Everyone seemed to arrive at the same time and some were waiting to be served after 40 mintues. Food was ok, hot and well cooked although portions might be smal for some. However, all the waiting staff worked hard. The entertainment provided was exceptional. First night brilliant singer with all the main theatrical songs; second night singer in the Rat Pack vein. The last night was brilliant. A truly gifted performer; comedian and impressionist. Had everyone crying with laughter and without being blue!!! All in all extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bowler1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank You for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I couldn’t agree more that the Hotel has a fantastic location. I have passed your comments over to Marie. All staff work hard to ensure every aspect of your holiday is enjoyable and Im thrilled you benefited from this. We look forward to seeing you again should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Room 320 turned out to be a real experience at the Royal. Cramped, dingy, dirty, old fashioned and a bathroom that had a mind of its own. The deal was part of a coach trip by Shearings to a Shearings owned hotel. Foyer was dated and dim but the bar to the left had been recently refurbished as had the dining room to the right. Whilst generally the hotel was old fashioned you can live with that providing its clean and tidy. Definitely not the case in room 320. Old sash cord windows that only open about a foot. Rotting window frames and windows that had seen a clean since Margaret Thatcher was Prime Minister. The wardrobe was attached to the wall with the brackets on the outside, the bedside cabinet obstructed the door to the bathroom and had a hole in it where people had opened the door and cracked it on the cabinet. The carpet was dirty, cobwebs hung from the ceiling and we played a game of counting them as we laid in bed at night. Lighting was dim and old fashioned with lamps at the side of the bed plugged into a socket totally unreachable without moving the bed. Television had a digital box on top but when turned on it said initial installation required press ok on the controls. Only controls were for the television not the digi box. No maintenance staff were working so had to wait 24 hours before the TV got replaced. Paper peeling off the wall and a chair that obstructed the entrance and exit to the room. The bathroom was totally unacceptable. Wash basin cracked in two places, large cracks. Flickering light above the wash basin. Heated towel rail taped up with black tape at the connection point. Hot water ran from the cold tap as well as the hot tap. You had to run both taps fully before any cold water came through. Hot water was even in the toilet cistern and when flushed the water was hot. Shower cubicle that was awkward to get into because of the sink in the way. The smell from the shower drain was disgusting. The shower head wouldn't hold on the rail so as soon as water was put through the shower the head dropped straight down. The plastic fittings weren't strong enough to hold the head upwards. The paper had peeled off the ceiling over the shower and looked unsighly. You could see the tide marks on the wall where the cleaners had cleaned to on the tiles. It was as far as they could reach and cloth stains were stuck on the tiles .Whilst it is appreciated that these are predominantly cheap holidays and i didn't expect the Ritz treatment it should be expected to get a clean and efficiently working room. The room was next to the lift and therefore noisy. The dining room was well decorated but staff were slow on service and clearing tables especially at busy times. The hotel is badly in need of refurbishment in the rear rooms to the hotel and i won't be rushing back for a long time.

Room Tip: Definitely need a premier or supreme room. Rear rooms are noisy particularly at weekends into the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank popeye59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
I am so sorry to hear of your experience. However I am confident that had you reported any issues you had with the room then they would have been rectified immediately. The hotel has undergone major refurbishments. And to avoid disruption to guests we are working our way through the rooms at a steady pace. Our staff work very efficiently within the restaurant, however when large members of guests arrive at one time there will inevitably be some waiting. The restaurant manager is working closely with the team to minimize these waiting times. Many guests compliment us on the cleanliness of the hotel, this is something we pride ourselves on. I am very sorry that you did not find this during your stay. Should you return I hope that you would notice the improvements made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Excellent view. Service was OK but the food was awful and overpriced.
NB: Only visited for lunch, did not stay in hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bencb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
I’m sorry you found your lunch to be awful. Had you reported this problem to one of our friendly staff then the problem would have been rectified immediately. Our prices are reflective of other bars and restaurants similar products. We receive many compliments on our lunches and have regular customers. Should you return I would recommend one of our extremely popular Cream Teas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

"Yule" never get a better Christmas in November, anywhere.
Our second year at the Bay Royal, for Turkey and Tinsel and again we had a Fabulous Time.
A big thank you to all the staff, who made our stay so memorable. The evening entertainment was of a very high standard and Neil"s old year night "BRILLIANT".
see you next year.
PS [ Like the newly decorated Restaurant and Bar ]

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view premier room, they are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cljabr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Excellent! We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We have had some very positive feedback regarding Turkey and Tinsel. I have passed your comments onto the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.6 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.6 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing