We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good,visited twice”

The Dorset Burger Company
Ranked #5 of 295 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an independently owned award-winning restaurant based opposite the train station, just down from the Jubilee Clock along the seafront. We have disabled access into the restaurant and are child and dog friendly. Our ethos is to use as many locally sourced ingredients as possible to create delicious home made, chargrilled burgers in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent customer service. We are proud members of both Dorset Food and Drink and Taste of The West and are thrilled to have achieved both a Gold Award for four years running from Taste of The West, also being named as South West Cafe of the year in 2013. We were also voted fourth best burger restaurant in the UK by Trip Advisor reviewers in 2016 and voted Best Restaurant of 2016 at the Dorset Tourism Awards and Wessex FM’s Weymouth Business of the Year in 2016. We are happy to welcome customers for coffees, teas, desserts and snacks. We are licensed and have a full bar serving a wide range of wines, draught local ales, ciders and other alcoholic drinks as well as soft drinks. We always have a number of meal deal special offers available alongside a full children's menu. Please do book in advance if possible for evenings and large parties as we can get busy. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Prior to visiting Weymouth for a few days,we looked at restaurants to visit during our stay.We rejected The Dorset Burger Company mainly because we expected something like Mc D or BK.How wrong can one be!.Our first visit was because we experienced a long day and wanted somewhere close to our Hotel for a quick meal,instead of going into the centre of Weymouth.Called in on a Tuesday night and what a surprise.It is situated in a large,old building,well laid out with small siderooms and a main dinning area/bar.The large choice of burgers on the menu is excellent.Big,juicy and lots of combinations priced from £9.49-12.89,well worth it!!.I had a burger topped with Brie and Bacon and Cranberry sauce on the first visit,served with excellent crispy/seasoned fries and coleslaw.My wife had the chicken burger and we both agreed,we are coming back before returning home.Came back 2 nights later and had another excellent meal.The place is relaxed and the staff are very good.(The only small thing I would suggest,To the restaurant,is that instead of "home made coleslaw" that you source Morrisons,The Best,reduced fat,thick cut coleslaw,which would have given you 10 out of 10 instead of 9).If you are in Weymouth,call in,you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 391davef65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear 391davef65,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your visits to us - it's a;ways great to see people returning to us!

We hope to see you again soon,
The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

An excellent place for a group of friends to meet up...good service and excellent food and drink,good choice of menu....relaxed and informal

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidayfun94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi holidayfun94,

Thank you for your fab review - we hope to see you again soon!

The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were a party of four normally they are closed this time of year for lunch but we were allowed in at the same time as a large party. Two of us were not to sure about burghers but these were delicious. The rolls were nice to. I was also offered extra salad as I don't eat chips. I and two others had the vegetable burgher and our other friend assured us the meat burghers were delicious as well. We thought the desserts nice as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebbiecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi ebbiecot,

We're so pleased that you enjoyed our homemade Veggie burger! Thanks for posting a review,

The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Went in here for lunch on Saturday, it was very quiet, but that was great for us as we wanted somewhere to relax after walking around Weymouth. The chicken burger was very good. My wife enjoyed her food as well. The waitress was very friendly and polite. Would certainly go back her on my next visit to Weymouth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Alun T,

Many thanks for your review, it's always great to read that people have enjoyed their visit to us!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Weymouth,
The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Fab meal in a quirky restaurant. From the outside doesn't look much but absolutely fantastic inside. Prices are very reasonable and great size portions. I love a sauce the smokey sauce and chilli jam were delicious. Would recommend to every burger lover. Will return on our next trip to Weymouth for sure, friendly staff and quick service.

Thank jemsy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear jemsy1234,

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to your return visit!

The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dorset Burger Company also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Dorset Burger Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing