We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!”

The Handmade Pie & Ale House
Ranked #19 of 310 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at our National British Pie Award winning Handmade Pie & Ale House are setting out to create the most premium of pies and to serve the most traditional, tastiest constantly changing ales, of which we always have some local and some from various parts of the country. We now have up to six to choose from and you are always welcome to have a FREE try before you buy!! We are proud to have our beautifully renovated old restaurant / bar where you can sit, enjoy and take in the charming surroundings whilst being looked after by our lovely caring staff and you can eat drink and be merry. Our pies are lovingly made by us, by hand, in our open-plan pie kitchen (where you can also see them being made!) With our homemade pastry and homemade fillings, no two pies are ever the same. We are constantly making our pies fresh from a selection of over 38 different flavours - we even make our own low calorie 'smart pies' and of course several vegetarian options. Also, if for some reason you don't fancy one of our multi award winning pies, we even have a NON PIE menu, which, believe it or not is called the 'We Don't Just Do Pies' menu! This has an ever changing variety of good old home cooking favourites and specialty boards, such as a meat & cheese sharer, our own crispy chicken wings, our own homemade gooey Brie Wedges in Panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 a rotisserie chicken on a board! Plus good old proper relaxing Sunday lunches, with roast leg of lamb, aged Scottish beef, stuffed rolled crispy belly pork etc. Not hungry? Alternatively, if you prefer just come and enjoy a drink in our beautiful bar and just have a good old piece of free hospitality on the side.......
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best place for foodies: amazing pies, perfect gravy, we've enjoyed the food very much. The athmosphere was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherriepumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi cherriepumpkin,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your scrummy homemade pies upon your visit. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Ciaran Donaldson and my pie team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has a nice friendly and cosy atmosphere and serves excellent pies and a range of good beers and craft ales. If you like hearty food and good ale this is it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1Biggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 1Biggles,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our pies, ales and ambience it's truly a pleasure to read!
We look forward to welcoming back through our doors again soon.

Ciaran Donaldson and my pie team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went as a group of three on a Saturday night, having booked in advance. Easy to find and so cosy looking too. Nice layout with friendly staff and a great selection of ales and wines. I tried two different real ales and both were fresh, nicely chilled and everything a good beer should be. The real ales change all the time, but I would recommend trying something new, as they certainly know how to keep and serve real ale. Excellent menu - I had the Gold medal winning beef and Stilton pie and it was perfect - all flavour, no chewy bits and beautifully cooked pastry.The Barman recommended a reasonably priced Rioja and this too was very very good wine. The ambience was really relaxing and we had a great evening. The staff were helpful, friendly and service attentive and efficient. These folks have got everything sorted and we will definitely be eating here next time we are in Weymouth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gerald O,

Thank you for your lovely review I'm very pleased that you were well looked after upon your visit and you found the food, service and experience to be of a 5 star standard. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Ciaran Donaldson and my pie team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

My wife and I very much enjoyed the food at this restaurant. If you like pies this is heaven - I prefer traditional ones but appreciate that others might be more adventurous. The service was OK but they were short staffed. I wasn't overly impressed by the table - in a corner by a through walk way so just be careful when booking.

Thank David_Cambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David_Cambridge_UK,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful time upon your visit!
Oh yes we offer a wide variety or pies to suit all pallets from the more traditional pies like Steak & Ale to the more adventurous like our Chicken, Cheese & Chorizo! I'm sorry to read that you weren't too keen on your table, next time you book please feel free to request a different table.

Ciaran Donaldson and my pie team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

The best pie ever, Steak & Stilton at The Best place to eat & drink in Weymouth. The staff must be hand picked, genuinely helpful and hospitable whilst working really hard. The Ale tasting was a nice touch. We really enjoyed our evening here and highly recommend it.

Thank paulaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Handmade Pie & Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi paulaann,

Thank you for your glowing review about our establishment and hard working staff, I know they'll be over the moon with your kind words. We are all thoroughly pleased that you enjoyed your scrummy homemade pies and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Ciaran Donaldson and my pie team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Handmade Pie & Ale House also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Handmade Pie & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing