We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights recently. lovely old hotel, right in the middle of Weymouth. Shops to the front of hotel and very close to the bustling beach. Staff were lovely. Spotless room 6, single. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SOORAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Stayed for 1 night. Room very small and old fashioned. Very noisy with late night revellers in street below and then sound of bottles being dumped into recycling bins so not much sleep. I know the noise wasn't the hotels fault.
Bed not very comfortable.
Breakfast was most entertaining part of stay. They give 1 hour for approx 100 people to be served. Some staff were trying to be ultra efficient which actually resulted in mayhem as they were forgetting orders and bumping into the more laid back staff. This caused the "efficient staff" to appear rude and abrupt whereas the "laid back" staff were friendly and jovial. Surely it would pay to have a longer breakfast slot so staff would be less stressed and residents would find breakfast less rushed and feel they needed to 'hurry up' . I am afraid I would not stay again and would not recommend .
The only reason we booked this hotel was because there were no others available for the night we required. Definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank linmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Another visit to the Crown Hotel and as expected, the same good quality and service. Having stayed many times, this was the first time during the summer peak period. Yes the hotel was busy with elderly coach parties and probably full but the standard of service and quality did not suffer. The rooms are well-maintained and spotlessly clean. The breakfast, as always, was excellent, even though we went down at the busiest time and all the staff were so cheerful and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The good points were that the hotel is in a great location , the beds were very comfortable, the bedroom/bathroom were clean and the room had tea/coffee making facilities. Hairdryer and fan were supplied.. The staff are all pleasant , especially the waitresses at breakfast. We had a full english breakfast which was lovely (although maybe on the small side for someone with a bigger appetite) ,the service was amazing though!
Bad points....the parking was a bit of a problem....we had to park in the multi storey which cost us £20 for two days. We had a family room on the 1st floor which had no view at all unless you call air conditioning ducts and a dirty window with a dirty net curtain a view. The TV in the room was tiny and slightly too high up to be able to watch comfortably. The hotel is quite dated and tired , when we looked in the first floor lounge it was obvious it was aimed at the older generation ....it had a 'care home' feel to it....and although we're in our 40's we felt very young compared to most of the guests. We barely had any sleep as the guests above us were stomping around on and off all night , we could hear them use the toilet , talking and coughing , opening and shutting drawers and the floor was very creaky ....the guests in the room next door had their TV on full blast in the evening and then turned it back on at 6am , again at full blast . We couldn't wait to leave straight after breakfast just so we could get some sleep.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank rory1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night, Saturday 29th July. Reception staff were great on check in with parking etc
Had a double room, bit on the small side but very very clean and tidy, and bathroom very clean. Towels, hairdryer provided, tea making facilities included.
Food and drink all reasonably priced. Nice residents lounge with wing back chairs overlooking the harbour.
Right next to the harbour bridge and pubs, can be a bit noisy outside and will nodes not double glazed but didn't cause us any issues.
Breakfast was very good, so well organised and a good selection. What impressed me was the little sachets of sauce came with a little pair of scissors to open, it was brilliant.
Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lougrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.6 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
336 reviews
4.2 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,116 reviews
12.1 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: €58 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing