We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
350
78
24
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
350
78
24
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast dual aspect front window ice machine comfy armchairs boiled eggs top floor room was large first floor lovely room overlooking the beach parking permit bay window on arrival a great stay little extras location is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Chose to stay here as wanted to be close to the beach to which was literally on the doorstep , the room was spotless , warm , cosy and very comfy , very retro unlike alot of other places that i have stayed , there was no hassle checking in or out , plenty of refreshments and yes sweets and tea cakes (heaven) , breakfest came in a basket left at your door which was so lovely and everything that we needed , will definately be staying again , thankyou for helping us in making this a very pleasurable trip .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This is most definately the best B&B in weymouth. The room was amazing, great size, lovely decor and finishing touches. Stunning views of both the sea front and harbour. Breakfast is also great, were not full english people so the breakfast basket is a fabulous idea.
Keith is very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzie22uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here while moving our son and daughter in law to be in Portland.
Lovely, room, great place to stay overlooking the bay. Room had heating turned on as we arrived, but was hot quickly, you don't want to waste heat until you need it do you?.
Semi old fashioned but made it quaint and beautiful. Shower room basic and neat and tidy.
Breekie was nice, plenty of tea, coffee and those bits if u need them.
For a nice place to stay, it's great, it's not 5 star so don't moan others, if you want 5 star, pay for it else where and bog off, this is 4 and 9tenths!!!

Our son has moved here and we will be booking this place very often to visit....

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Owner at The Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for The Roundhouse. We do hope that we'll see you here again next time you visit Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We booked through Booking.com, and saw that as as well as B&B in the main hotel, there were also apartments 5 mins walk away. We liked the idea of being able to cook our own meals in the evenings, so booked an apartment.
On arrival the first thing we noticed was the dirty stairs up to the apartment. They clearly hadn't been vacuumed for weeks. Then once inside the apartment, it was freezing cold, and took the whole of that first evening to warm up, once we turned the radiators on.
The booking blurb clearly states breakfast included, so as well as tea & coffee making equipment, that all places provide, we were expecting the necessary ingredients for breakfast in the apartment waiting for us. There were teabags in one of the kitchen cupboards, (which we assumed had been left by a previous guest) and in another, a large catering cardboard box containing sachets of coffee. No milk, no cereal, no anything else.....not even sugar.
The kitchen floor was dirty, there were sticky spills in several places.
The kitchen was described as 'fully equipped' but we found it lacking, with inadequate collection of utensils, cutlery and glasses (all of which we had to wash BEFORE using).
There were some cleaning things under the kitchen sink, but these had been thrown in in a complete mess and seemed to be there for the cleaner to use rather than the guests.
There was a door in the kitchen leading to some stairs going down....not sure where it lead because bags of laundry and bedding etc had been just thrown in in similar messy fashion as the sink cupboard. I instantly realised that this was probably where all the bed linen was stored. It didn't fill me with any enthusiasm for the bed!
The sofa was uncomfortable to say the least....and to describe it as a sofabed was a joke. It clearly HAD been once, but it was dated, old and broken and quite frankly we were glad we didn't have to sleep on it. On arrival there was a pile of duvet and bedding dumped on the sofa, which seemed odd, as we'd booked the apartment as a couple.
The bed (described in the blurb as 'large double' and was in reality merely a standard double) was awful. Really uncomfortable, dipping in the middle and horribly soft. The polyester/cotton bedding was tired and shabby. Neither of us slept properly.

This apartment is probably hardly ever checked by the Roundhouse Hotel management to maintain a good standard of cleanliness and presentation. We paid over £100 per night to stay there and felt it was seriously over-priced considering the poor standard of condition.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stitchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Owner at The Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts regarding your stay. However, the apartments you mention have nothing to do with The Roundhouse. This has been brought to the attention of TripAdvisor, but for some reason this review has been allowed to stand and there is nothing we can do about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I have tried to keep this review factual so that others can form their own opinions but the two non-factual opinions I will offer is that it felt like we were staying in student accommodation and for the money we paid, we expected something significantly more refined.
1. When trying to confirm arrival time by phone the number did not connect and we had to go to the facebook page to get a different number to call the owner. This caused concerns that they were going out of business and we wouldn’t have anywhere to stay.
2. The website is misleading
- It does not suggest that the apartments are remote from the Roundhouse Hotel. They are more than a 5 minute walk from the Esplanade.
- It states in the text that the bed is kingsized. The bed is a double.
- It states that “The accommodation although accessed via stairs, is all on one level, furnished in a contemporary style and equipped to an exceptional standard” The majority of the furniture is worn out and beyond the end of it’s useful life
- The fireplace mentioned is in the bedroom and has been blocked up. There is no fireplace in the living room, where it might be expected to be found
- The furniture in the apartments has been swapped between the apartments when looking at the photographs
- There is no mention of the Church clock striking at 30 minute intervals nor any mention that the pubs are open all night Friday and Saturday nights (not just on New Years Eve).
3. No heating on on arrival
4. Only a random selection of shower gels left in the bathroom
5. No tea or coffee making facilities (kettle provided but no coffee, tea or milk)
6. Breakfast was included but only if you wanted to walk to the Roundhouse in the pouring rain
7. Furniture is cheap quality and in a poor state of repair
- Table had only 2 of 6 legs attached and it was very rickety
- Settee had been poorly repaired and was falling apart to a point where sitting on it was uncomfortable and the covers did not fit properly
- Bed was worn with a dip on each side. An attempt had been made to hide this with a thick mattress topper.
- Kitchen cupboard doors under the sink loose and crooked
- Lamp shade broken on the overhead light in the living room
8. Poor standard of cleanliness
- Shower tray lip very dusty and looked like it had not received a proper clean in weeks
- Shower drain running slow
- Crockery and cutlery had not been washed up properly (grease marks, stains and dried on food)
- Grill pan had not been cleaned
- Greasy fingerprints all over the fridge doors
- The cupboard under the sink was full of cleaning stuff just thrown in because there was no shelf
- The back stairs was an untidy mess of laundry bags, ironing board, vacuum cleaner
- Stairwell not cleaned of builders work
9. Of a set of 6 knives, forks and spoons there were many items missing. (Thankfully there was at least 2 of everything)
10. A random set of glasses looked like they had migrated to the apartment from the local pubs

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RobinJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Owner at The Roundhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts regarding your stay. However, the apartments you mention have nothing to do with The Roundhouse. This has been brought to the attention of TripAdvisor, but for some reason this review has been allowed to stand and there is nothing we can do about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews