We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #105 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Just had 3 nights accommodation at this pub and I must say it was marvellous. My step daughter had a dance competition and instead of travelling back and forth decided to stay in the area.
We stayed in the converted coach house number 1, lounge area two bedrooms bathroom, the accommodation was spotless, All the staff are really friendly as are the locals.
It is virtually a ten minute pleasant walk into Weymouth.
Breakfast was cooked perfectly although the only negative is it could have been included.
Really enjoyed our stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank BEAR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

This pub is great, it is very quirky and access to the family room, is a tricky experience,
The family room is lovely, it has a natural feel, and with a roof window,
Our 2 granddaughter's (3&4 yrs) thought it was fantastic, as there is a big box of toys and bookshelf.
The pub is friendly, and allow dogs'although the only dog in the pub was the pub dog called 'Dotty', who has lived there all her life.
From the railway station the (3&10) buses, are running every 10 mins from the beach to the pub (around 5 mins).
It is simple, good pubs are hard to find. This pub has a great atmosphere, so use it or
lose it

Kevin & Linda Fletcher

Room Tip: Always try to book the large family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Don't be put off by the outside of the Pub. The rooms are at the back very cosy modern and clean. The breakfast was good too, eating in a empty pub was nice as well. Everyone helpful and friendly. We had a family room a Double and 2 singles with the little ones cot in between the singles with plenty of room. Tea and coffee facilities are plenty too. Lovely shower room with soaps.
Parking is at the back of the property.
We only stayed for one night as we were attending a funeral in Puncknowle Brideport. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Everything seemed ok when we arrived we stayed in the family room above the pub,the shower was so tiny you could barely move the toilet was a pain to flush. The room was dirty found old food under wardrobe and old painkillers still in the room on the floor very noisy at night time due to it being on a busy road. The window doesn't open in the room and the price doesn't include breakfast which I find odd considering the amount they charge had breakfast one morning wasn't worth the money so went to local cafe. Would not stay here again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank beckielouise31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

4 adults and a baby with 2 rooms booked. 1st room was in the new coach house and really nice and comfy. 2nd room at top of pub, a bit older and shows but very comfy so cant complain. Staff really friendly and helpful. 10 min walk to seafront. Only disapointment was the price did not include breakfast, you have to pay seperatly. But it was nice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank steve69karen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
11.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
300 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.1 km away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
3.7 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 52 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: €68 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing