We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #109 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

4 adults and a baby with 2 rooms booked. 1st room was in the new coach house and really nice and comfy. 2nd room at top of pub, a bit older and shows but very comfy so cant complain. Staff really friendly and helpful. 10 min walk to seafront. Only disapointment was the price did not include breakfast, you have to pay seperatly. But it was nice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank steve69karen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Spent the afternoon with my wife wandering through the vastly underrated town of Weymouth. So much to see if you step back from the seafront and visit the area near the moveable bridge. Called in for a beer at The Royal Oak and they deserve to be commended for their sensible prices for soft drinks. Great beer too. Too many places rip people off with inexcusable exorbitant prices for soda water. Name and shame.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stuartbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Thought we'd give this place a second chance as love Weymouth. Room was nice and spacious. Yet again they came in the room without being asked or it being mentioned. Despite that it is good value for money and only a 10 minute walk into town

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Huntforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in many BnBs in Weymouth due to my family moving here in 2000 but this one i think out done them all we arrived at 2pm shown straight to our room we brought our little dog with us for the first time as i had seen that pet were allowed we got to our room and was pleasantly surprised we had the family room I was unsure at first as it was at the front and I know the Dorchester road is a very busy road. We went to meet my family in town which is a 10-15min walking distance we came back to the royal oak and had a few drinks the carling is the best we tasted all weekend n we tried different places including my brothers local the park and a few in the town the pub is an old traditional pub which we love. The room had everything you would expect my partner finds it hard to sleep when we go anywhere how ever last night he fell straight to sleep before 10.30pm and didn't wake up till 9.30 the next morning we couldn't hear the noise for the road which was a surprise to us both. the dog was so comfortable and content I think. The staff were help and friendly ly need to ask and the happy to help. We had a cooked breakfast which was lovely cooked to perfection my partner couldn't find a fault which is a big thing for him as he would moan about anything and everything he even left me and my family after we had checked out and been in town for a few hours, he went back to the pub as he couldn't find a better pint in town. Thank you to all the staff mainly the two ladies who took care of us we will be back very soon....

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed here recently, just for 1 night. Even before our visit staff were very helpful, and explained the facilities in full. Jane the landlady is a pet lover, so there is absolutely no problem taking your dog. They are made more than welcome. It is a dog lovers pub!
The Courtyard en-suite rooms are well furnished and modern, with fitted en suite and heating. Very tastefully decorated.
The pub is very traditional, (try the Doombar!) and staff very friendly and helpful.They even let you bring in your own food from the local restaurants and take away's.
Location is great, about a 5 minute walk to seafront. and town centre.
Overall a great place to stopover. Thanks Jane & staff for a very warm welcome!!

Room Tip: Rear rooms on Courtyard give you use of garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouieDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 km away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
#10 of 166 in Weymouth
407 reviews
1.8 km away
Sailors Return
Sailors Return
#143 of 166 in Weymouth
94 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
11.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
0.7 km away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 52 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: €63 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing