We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
30
20
13
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
20
13
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room two single beds converted coach house proper pub lovely accommodation minute walk into town tea and coffee facilities your doorstep nice stay stay there again stayed for one night warm welcome jane landlady seafront ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This was a one of. last minute booking for myself and family including Hector our family pet.
Straight to the point.
This is a wonderful place to go if you have pets.
Rm 3 was a family room one double and two single beds a nice size shower very warm and clean.
Away from the main pub but still ajoined a lovely patio area.
The main pub is a good old fashioned.
Darts.pool.family room come snug.
Loads of friendly dogs
Let's make this clear it does not do food only breakfast.
But it's has all the take away restaurant's your need within a 100 mtr walk
And you are welcome to bring back to the pub and eat at any table. plates knife and forks and sauces providid this is such a great saving on the wallet.
The landlady is awesome nothing is to much.
They made Hector very welcome including the pub dog dotty .
This is a good pub .
But please remember it's a sports type pub with all the sky sports so it does come with a few swear words from the locals.when watching sports.
But they do apologise if they see a family in the bar area .
The locals ae friendly .chatty .polite
So let's not judge a book by its cover.
Will definitely return.
Mr jeyson Fosbury and family
And Hector

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

slightly dated pub but the rooms in the courtyard were spacious and comfortable,no noise at night from the pub, breakfast was pretty average and a little over priced at £7
not really cheap £121 for a triple room

Room tip: in the courtyard area away from the pub
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

About a mile out of town on the Dorchester Road. A bit of a walk but found it very welcoming by staff, the locals and a cute little dog. It is a deceptively large pub with sports television, pool and outside patio seating. We only visited for drinks but we are told that rooms are also available.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We booked in for one nights stay on Tuesday at the Royal Oak. We did arrive early and thought we would get the feel of the surroundings and have a drink at the bar. I explained to the man behind the bar that we were staying and he told us the room was ready and that we could book in early. We were pleasantly suprised to find our room was on ground level with patio areas outside. We smoke so this was a bonus! The room was very clean and fitted with everything you would need. In fact we enjoyed it so much, we decided to stay another night in the same room, thanks to the Manageress, Jane, who was very obliging. The situation of the pub is excellent, close to every take away you could think of and a Tesco Express. The bus stop is just outside the pub and costs £2 to take you into Weymouth. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Room tip: Room 4 was the only room we saw.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GillianTomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Helpful prior to visit and during our stay. Accommodation is good and clean. Only addition I'd like is a small fridge in the room.
Dog is cute!
Sealife centre and beach easily accessible.
Close to pub are places to get food and other supplies which your allowed to eat in the pub.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews