We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Break”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Oak
Ranked #109 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed here recently, just for 1 night. Even before our visit staff were very helpful, and explained the facilities in full. Jane the landlady is a pet lover, so there is absolutely no problem taking your dog. They are made more than welcome. It is a dog lovers pub!
The Courtyard en-suite rooms are well furnished and modern, with fitted en suite and heating. Very tastefully decorated.
The pub is very traditional, (try the Doombar!) and staff very friendly and helpful.They even let you bring in your own food from the local restaurants and take away's.
Location is great, about a 5 minute walk to seafront. and town centre.
Overall a great place to stopover. Thanks Jane & staff for a very warm welcome!!

Room Tip: Rear rooms on Courtyard give you use of garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouieDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This was a one of. last minute booking for myself and family including Hector our family pet.
Straight to the point.
This is a wonderful place to go if you have pets.
Rm 3 was a family room one double and two single beds a nice size shower very warm and clean.
Away from the main pub but still ajoined a lovely patio area.
The main pub is a good old fashioned.
Darts.pool.family room come snug.
Loads of friendly dogs
Let's make this clear it does not do food only breakfast.
But it's has all the take away restaurant's your need within a 100 mtr walk
And you are welcome to bring back to the pub and eat at any table. plates knife and forks and sauces providid this is such a great saving on the wallet.
The landlady is awesome nothing is to much.
They made Hector very welcome including the pub dog dotty .
This is a good pub .
But please remember it's a sports type pub with all the sky sports so it does come with a few swear words from the locals.when watching sports.
But they do apologise if they see a family in the bar area .
The locals ae friendly .chatty .polite
So let's not judge a book by its cover.
Will definitely return.
Mr jeyson Fosbury and family
And Hector

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jeyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

slightly dated pub but the rooms in the courtyard were spacious and comfortable,no noise at night from the pub, breakfast was pretty average and a little over priced at £7
not really cheap £121 for a triple room

Room Tip: in the courtyard area away from the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardwilliams4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

About a mile out of town on the Dorchester Road. A bit of a walk but found it very welcoming by staff, the locals and a cute little dog. It is a deceptively large pub with sports television, pool and outside patio seating. We only visited for drinks but we are told that rooms are also available.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We booked in for one nights stay on Tuesday at the Royal Oak. We did arrive early and thought we would get the feel of the surroundings and have a drink at the bar. I explained to the man behind the bar that we were staying and he told us the room was ready and that we could book in early. We were pleasantly suprised to find our room was on ground level with patio areas outside. We smoke so this was a bonus! The room was very clean and fitted with everything you would need. In fact we enjoyed it so much, we decided to stay another night in the same room, thanks to the Manageress, Jane, who was very obliging. The situation of the pub is excellent, close to every take away you could think of and a Tesco Express. The bus stop is just outside the pub and costs £2 to take you into Weymouth. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 4 was the only room we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GillianTomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 km away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
#11 of 166 in Weymouth
406 reviews
1.8 km away
Sailors Return
Sailors Return
#142 of 166 in Weymouth
94 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
11.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
0.7 km away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 52 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: €63 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing