We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so close”

The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli
Ranked #69 of 310 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Description: Howdy folks! Here we are with our second restaurant and this one truly does have a different theme and as you've probably guessed already - it's good ole BBQ! Come on down folks, come rain or shine we're here all year round to fill up those hunger pangs! ....come hungry Leave happy!
Restaurant details
Description: Howdy folks! Here we are with our second restaurant and this one truly does have a different theme and as you've probably guessed already - it's good ole BBQ! Come on down folks, come rain or shine we're here all year round to fill up those hunger pangs! ....come hungry Leave happy!
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Last minute trip to Weymouth ,first place we see after parking car very conveniently in train station only a couple of meters away. Just what we were craving but came away a little disappointed.
The restaurant itself looks great! And we were greated with nice welcoming smiles .
The drinks list is a vast size with plenty of options i had a really good pint of ipa and the wife had a large sweet rose. We didn't have a starter as decided we shall leave room for a sweet after our meal. Our drinks order was taken very quickly and our food order was taken as our drinks arrived the wife had chosen gammon and i had the tri-decker. The restaurant had 4 other tables full that night which i believe is very quiet for a friday night at 8pm (12/10/10). One table was a large family from America, the rest of the tables was couples.
We waited a really long time but figured if fresh worth the wait,so after 40 minutes our food arrived it looks great! Fries are skin on and hot ,good!
Buttered corn with a garlic kick ,simple and good.
Gammon eggs pineapple great!
Coleslaw homemade TERRIBLE! really fine cut watery mess awful texture and taste. I don't think it was the ingredients as coleslaw is simple but may have been the fineness it had been cut and excess water hadn't been squeezed out . If it was chunky im sure it would have been different story.
My tri-decker , the beef pattie is small but full of flavour, pulled pork amazing but the chicken in the franks/buffalo was ice cold i guess previously prepared. Great flavor combo
A little disappointed we decided to grab dessert elsewhere.
Just small details really ,so very close to being great and price 36 quid for 2 drinks and 2 mains .

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Terry T,

Many thanks for your review.

We're so pleased you loved most of the food however disappointed you didn't like our coleslaw and found the chicken to be cold. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify any shortcomings on the evening of your visit however we do apologise for the issues mentioned.

We hope you can return to us soon and find everything to be just right :).

Best wishes,

Adam & The Somerset House Hotel & BBQ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018

We stayed there for 3 nights late September 18 and the food was great and the stay absolutely fantastic. Food is an American style fare with nice variety and the place always smells amazing. Good choice of beers and wines and the prices pretty standard.

The room was very comfortable indeed. Great size bed and decent bathroom and a fridge to keep your room drinks cold. Noise levels were good so we didn't get disturbed at night and the breakfast was spot on.

Staff are very friendly and got to know you. Will definitely stay here again

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi Martin F,

Thank you for an excellent 5 bubble review.

We've tried extremely hard to ensure all aspects of our guests visits are covered, from acoustic windows to super comfy king size/super-king-size beds. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves with us and really look forward welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Adam & The Somerset House Hotel & BBQ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Really lovely food - so filling, good value for money, really enjoyed the music, the service was great, we will be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Candiced01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi Candiced01,

Thank you for leaving us a fab review.

We're very happy you enjoyed all aspects on your recent visit with us and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Adam & The Somerset House Hotel & BBQ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Ate here early evening. I like hot spicy food so I went for the fire starter ( burger smothered in pulled chicken drenched in homemade extra hot sauce.) when I have a curry I have a phal so I can take my spice hot, but be warned, this firefighter sauce is not for the feignt hearted and it neatly beat me. Wife had hot dog smothered in sauce, bacon, cheese and that looked real good too
Highly recommend, great atmosphere

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank p0rkpie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi p0rkpie55,

Thank you so much for a fab review.

Our Firestarter (or firefighter lol) sauce has had even our biggest heat heads have a watering eye on occasions, made with Dorset Naga chillies packed with lots of scoville units!

We're so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to the next :)

Kind regards,

Adam & The Somerset House Hotel & BBQ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

The second time we have been here, Have to say it was equally as good, We were seated very quickly, By the usual friendly staff, our drinks order was taken & delivered very quickly, as was the food order, I have to say the menu is very good with to many good choices to mention, You'll have to go & see for yourselves, You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerAdam, General Manager at The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi Fred M,

Thank you for a smashing 5 bubble review!

We're over the moon that you enjoyed yourselves. We love our customers returning to give some more of our lovely items a try! Some new bits and bobs coming soon, follow us @TheSomersetHouseHotel

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Adam & The Somerset House Hotel & BBQ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Somerset BBQ Kitchen & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing