We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, brilliant staff and friendly owners”
Review of Jersey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jersey Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed here on business and the staff cannot do enough for you. The location is great, just 5 minutes drive from Barnard Castle but near enough to visit Durham. The owners are great and welcome you with an amazing breakfast each morning. The dinner menu is also fantasic and good value for money. The ponies in the field are lovely and nice to go and look at after dinner. I would definitely stay here again. The staff are so helpful and professional and will cater for everyone, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conrad169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We recently stayed for one night at the Jersey Farm hotel. The room was quite small with a bed that sunk in the middle and a very lopsided mirror on the wall. Although it looked as though some attempts to modernise the place had been carried out, it left a lot to be desired.

Our room was above the bar area and could most definitely use some extra sound-proofing. The noise from the bar was ridiculous - it was actually possible to make out people's loud conversations. The bar was supposed to close at 12am, yet the noise went on until at least 1am, resulting in very little sleep for either of us.

Breakfast the following morning was very disappointing. It was a buffet style 'hot' breakfast, alongside fruit which was not ripe and a poor selection of yogurts. The hot breakfast was barely warm and toast was included as part of the buffet selection - it would have made a big difference if fresh toast was brought to the table upon request. In my opinion, as I can't eat cold food which is meant to be hot, or unripe fruit, it was inedible.

At £99, I was very disappointed with the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the bar area as possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HDH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The staff were very helpful, even keeping the restaurant open late as some members of our party did not arrive till very late. We had the carvery for speed's sake as it was very late but the a la carte menu looked quite reasonable. It was a standard carvery but there was a good choice of both meats and desserts.
Breakfast was excellent with a really good fresh fruit salad available and a wide choice of eggs as well as the standard breakfast food.
The room was adequate and reasonably comfortable but the bed was a little too firm for my liking.
Overall it was a pleasant, quite venue.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrews10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were married at The Jersey Farm 30th July 2011. This is an ideal venue if you're looking for somewhere different and special. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, with lawned gardens and seating areas for guests to relax, surrounded by fields (complete with ponies) and far reaching views. Inside the venue is equally as impressive, a mix of traditional and stylish modern. There are plenty of places for guests to be seated and enjoy drinks and conversation, we had a large wedding day party and everybody had somewhere to sit and relax without feeling on top of each other. The bedrooms are very good too, guest rooms are spacious, clean and tidy. The honeymoon suite was FAB with jacuzzi and modern decor we had guests popping in just to see it throughout the day !!! The food is AMAZING and every guest was very impressed, it was fresh, hot and served all at the same time. It has to be said though the main thing we as a couple and our guests commented upon was the staff. They are truly fantastic. Ruth (wedding coordinator) saw us through the whole day answering any questions we had and making sure all guests were happy. Although ALL saff were very polite, friendly and happy to help. I can not recommend this place enough ! We will be returning with friends and family soon for a meal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a superior room and were delighted . Perhaps a little bit expensive but worth it. The wedding was the best ever...well it was my son's special day so I am a bit biased. Breakfast was good.The grounds were beautiful and those ponies were adorable. The llamas were shy.

Room Tip: get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slemishbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
4.0 km away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
16.2 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
18.0 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
9.1 km away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
445 reviews
11.2 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Farm

Address: Darlington Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Price Range: €88 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jersey Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Jersey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Farm Hotel Barnard Castle
Jersey Farm Barnard Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing