We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Palio 2 - CLOSED

Il Palio 2
Price range: US$4 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Friendly but slow service. Good authentic food in generous portions. Better than a chain Italian, but nothing special.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katharine_H675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    33
    29
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have not been to eat here for many years and to some degree I have been influenced by the negative reviews.
Our experience was superb. It's exactly as I remember it from my youth, full of character, really buzzing and a lovely traditional feel both from the food and Italian service.
It's so very different from the totally bland chains of restaurants that now dominate the high street and have killed off so many family concerns.
Perhaps they have their days when things don't go so well but that was not our experience in any way.
Truthfully I very much regret being influenced by the negative reviews and not have returned much sooner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLGNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

100% Italian atmosphere there. It is recommended to book as it is a well known place by the locals.

Helpful?
Thank Fred_UK_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great traditional meal !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Fantastic food !!

The other half and i really fancied some italian food whilst on a trip to the new forest, and WOW the food was amazing !!

The garlic bread started is huge, it was the size of a usual pizza and tasted divine !

I had the pasta carbonara and my other half had the pizza, the portion sizes are very big neither of us finished out meal (i blame the awsome garlic bread and us being greedy) and both meals were fantastic, also the prices were very reasonable.

If you're staying near by i would say to defiantly give Il Palio a visit . . . Nom !!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent italian quisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

check out the fillet steak options and the homemade pizzas ! good value food in a nice warming envoirement would go back again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rod060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Palio 2 also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing