We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveller rating
937
252
37
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
252
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar free cake parking space standing hat james hill snug bar gillies holt brusher mills exbury room wilverley room morant room new forest tea and cake fresh milk allocated parking on arrival bucks fizz
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Well organized arrival, greeted by Kelly, who is a real asset to this hotel, and discovered we had a designated parking space. We had a downstairs room with gated patio, ideal as we were traveling with two small dogs. Everywhere was very clean, all staff friendly and breakfast very good. Disappointed with restaurant in evening but understand this is run independently of the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for writing us a lovely review. We thank you for your kind words regarding the Hotel and our team. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break away with your dogs.

I am very sorry to read that you were underwhelmed by the restaurant on this visit, which is such a shame as they often receive great reviews too.

Hope you have a lovely summer we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at this delightful B&B. We pulled into our reserved parking space and were greeted with a very warm welcome by one of the front of house staff. We were shown to our room (Burley) which was very pleasant. It had French doors leading out into a sunny courtyard with table and chairs where we immediately took advantage of with the complimentary cake on offer in the 'Snug'. The bed was lovely and firm, I can't stand soft beds, and the bathroom was stunning. It's a full wet room with lovely power shower.

We had a very restful night's sleep but were woken up every morning by either people upstairs or next door or kitchen staff. The walls in the rooms are VERY thin and you can easily hear the TV in the next room.

The breakfast was very nice and you can order extra items if you wish, the marmalade especially was very good. The owner came to greet us each morning, which was a nice touch, however it seemed more like she was going through the motions a little, especially as she came over the second morning and introduced herself again as if she'd never seen us before. She recognised us by the third morning however!

All in all I would recommend this B&B, it's location is great, just a little niggle with the thin walls.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as we like to go to Pebble Beach in Barton on Sea, and Verveine in Milford on Sea. Both excellent fish restaurants

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sdbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so sorry that you were woken by others around you. It is the summer and windows are open. As soon as windows open, noise travels. This isn't just at Cottage Lodge. This is any hotel, anywhere in the world.

Glad you liked our breakfast and silly me for not recognising you on the second day. I love meeting our visitors. It is the whole reason I run a hotel and one of the perks of the job. Meeting people at breakfast, around the building and at dinner is a real treat, but sometimes I get it wrong. I did with you and I'm sorry.

Delighted you would come back and thank you for all your kind comments. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Take care Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Our family of 10 including 4 children under the age of 8, had a really lovely weekend in this friendly, comfortable and delightful gem of a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Kelly and her staff who also coped more than admirably with the demands of one of the children who had food intolerance and allergies. Thank you!
J J & family Bedfordshire

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you Gunar for your lovely review. We were delighted to help your 70th Birthday celebrations go so smoothly. Thank you for advising us of all your needs in advance so that we could make the arrangements.
It was wonderful to meet all of your family and we hope that you will return and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We stayed at Cottage Lodge for two nights during a road trip around southern England in May 2017. We were delighted with the designated parking spot, the excellent location (walking distance to pubs and restaurants, the High Street, hiking trails in the New Forest, and the train station). We enjoyed seeing New Forest ponies wandering on the green opposite the inn.

We stayed in the Exeter Room, which is spacious and has a comfortable bed and a large immaculate bath with a luxurious soaking tub. The Exeter room faces Sway Road, so there is some traffic noise in the early evening, but it was generally quiet during sleeping hours.

Breakfast was substantial, delicious, and made from high-quality local ingredients. Tea, cakes, and an honor bar are available all the time.

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank Foxlily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Front Office Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it.
We are really pleased that you had the opportunity to get away from it all and relax here in the Forest and use us to your full advantage.
We are very lucky to be so well situated so that our guests can get on with enjoying their forest getaways. Plenty more for you to explore so we hope to be seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

It was our 2nd visit with our little dog. We stayed in a different room than the first time and it was as lovely and comfortable as the room we stayed in on our first visit. Unfortunately on our first morning having breakfast in the snug (dog friendly) a member of staff made us feel uncomfortable. On our last visit our dog was made VERY WELCOME unfortunately not so much this time.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jfairhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for coming again and writing such a wonderful review. I am so sad that a member of the team made you feel unwelcome with your dog. We all love dogs here. So I am surprised, and am trying to find out what happened so it doesn't happen to anyone else.

We love dogs, but we completely understand that not everyone has the same view. So, if you are thinking of coming to stay at the Cottage Lodge and you don't have a dog, or you have a dog allergy, please be reassured that dogs only go into three dog friendly bedrooms and the snug bar. They are not allowed into the restaurant or into the other dog-free 12 rooms.

Take care and thank you for returning to see us. Hope we have the pleasure of your company another time.

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews