We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our package was B&B with a rasoul mud treatment and thai lunch. We arrived quite late in the afternoon/early evening. The Receptionist was polite and helpful and the porter took our bags to the room quickly and efficiently. The room was quite large, clean but relatively basic in terms of decor. The bed was comfy which is always a good start. It has coffee/tea facilities and an LCD TV. The rooms are located about 1-2 mins walk from the spa and you could change into your robe and slippers and then walk down to the spa - you don't have to go outside. Once we'd unpacked we went straight to the spa area and had a swim and sauna. The changing rooms were clean and you could ask for access to the Hyrdotherapy part of the spa (though this was part of the spa break package we had)
We had dinner in the 2xAA Rosette restaurant and can say that even though it was expensive (£100 for 3 courses for 2 and 2 beers), the service was very good and the food was very nice (though we had king prawns for starters and they were *just* cooked through - we prefer ours cooked slightly longer).
We decided to book our treatments for next day before going to dinner, but they had very limited availability - HOWEVER this was a blessing in disguise...... The Treatments are very expensive - £55 for 30 minutes back neck and shoulder massage. My Wife and I have gone to a few Spas (and my wife is a beauty therapist by trade) and we both thought that the massage was good but it wasn't worth the money. The Spa appeared to be quite hectic and there was a lot of people in a relatively small reception area.
On the plus side, the food in the Thai restaurant was nice and quite healthy.

Overall we had a really nice 24 hours at Careys Manor and i can definately say we'll come back though we'll probably just stick with dinner and use of the spa facilities rather than maybe having specific treatments.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkFBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRHJ, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for your much valued feedback following your stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,865 - 1,869 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at Careys Manor hotel and Spa, for two nights. It is a lovely hotel, and I would be happy to return there or recommend to anyone. The room we stayed in, part of the extended wing was very spacious and all the facilities where very comfortable. The room was clean and tidy and the maid service also did a good job of keeping the room tidy. We ate in Careys Manor for all of our meals. The first night the food was in the manor restaurant, the service and quality of food was top notch, and was also very well cooked and seasoned. You can defiantly tell that the front of house team and where there to look after you and paid you the correct amount of attention you would expect for a high quality meal.

We also had breakfast in the manor on two mornings and the service was exactly the same. We also ate at Xen Garden, both for lunch, and dinner. Whilst I was happy with the quality, freshness and flavors of the all the meal's the service in Xen Garden was defiantly a good couple of notches behind the team serving at the manor. Both at lunch time and at dinner, the waiting staff seemed to be always rushing around, in a chaotic manor, so service levels dropped, when compared to the manor.

The hotel and spa are not cheap weekends away, the manor restaurant prices are justifiable for the quality and service, Xen need's to raise it game in terms of service if it wants customer not to feel overcharged. 15.95 for a greek salad is expensive, when the service let's you down. Also if you say on your menu, the salad is served with a roll and butter you should serve it.

The Spa facility was great, and was the main reason we went to stay there, the hydrotherapy pool's and the facilities are all well built and specified, and would not look out of place in any expansive 5 star hotel in asia.

Overall I would return to the place, and I am really giving the feedback so that the team at Xen garden can raise there game, in terms of service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extended wing looked like they where more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRHJ, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are very grateful of your kind words and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Your constructive feedback regarding the Zen Garden Restaurant will be acted upon so we may continue to meet and exceed the expectations of our much valued guests.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed for three nights on the recommendation of a friend. The hotel is on the main road, but our very large Oakwood garden room (with sofa, table and chairs) was very peaceful and spotlessly clean. At check in we were offered help with our luggage and shown to our rooms. We began with a delicious afternoon tea in the comfortable sitting room (with inglenook). We used the swimming pool and jacuzzi before dinner (extra charge of £35pp daily for full spa facilities) and there is a fully equipped gym, which seemed popular. There are three dining choices, and we tried all of them: Manor Restaurant offering fine dining (although at £100 for 2 courses, wine and coffee it was dearer than our local Michelin-starred restaurant); a Thai restaurant with a very good range of dishes, and a rather 'cheap and cheerful' French bistro, which I found rather disappointing (lukewarm food and a very kitsch interior). Breakfast is a choice of cooked or Continental. Most days the cooked is from a buffet, but one morning it was cooked to order as there were fewer guests. (Staff would do well to note that guests often prefer to choose their own table – they are herded together somewhat and I never really got to sit where I wanted!)

The location is ideal for walking in the New Forest, or for day trips (Beaulieu Motor Museum and Winchester are recommended), and the charming ponies roam can be seen roaming up the High Street!

This hotel is probably one of the most relaxing that we have visited. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly, knowledgeable staff, whether they are serving in the restaurant, on the front desk, or tending the garden. It is undoubtedly popular with weddings, which are a no-no if you are looking for a quiet break, so check that there isn't one booked, or go mid-week as we did (when rooms are also cheaper). We were genuinely sad to leave.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden for peace and quiet. Ground floor ones have outdoor furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallflowerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRHJ, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Careys Manor.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your break with us and found us to be the most relaxing retreat you’ve come across to date. Your kind words towards the team are much appreciated and will be shared with them.

I’m grateful for your candid feedback regarding Le Blaireau, our French Bistro, and I’m sorry this was not to your liking but pleased you enjoyed your other dining experiences whilst at the hotel.

You are most welcome to pick and choose your preferred table at Breakfast, Matej our Restaurant Manager will ensure his team remain flexible in this regard.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a lovely, albeit too brief a stay at Careys Manor. The room, facilities, food and spa were all excellent but what really made it special was the friendly and positive attitude of the very helpful staff. Even when taking advantage of the discount deals, it is not a cheap place to stay but as it was a special occassion we pushed the boat out and throughly enjoyed our treat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondDog121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRHJ, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

I am very grateful of you taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

only stayed one night but would love to return for longer stay. Our room was rather small but comfortable. Dinner and breakfast excellant, all staff wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. Very pretty setting, to be recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
11.6 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,949 reviews
3.9 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,797 reviews
5.5 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,683 reviews
8.5 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
5 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: €163 - €271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in The Telegraph's Best Hotels in Hampshire. Blending just the right fusion of relaxed informality and stylish refinement, a break at Careys Manor Hotel will make you feel wonderfully pampered. Nestled between the New Forest National Park, Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa provides the perfect base for grown up getaways to escape and discover. With 77 plush bedrooms and suites, the award winning SenSpa, 3 onsite restaurants and 4 star award winning service, create extraordinary memories at Careys Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing