We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for children”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel for children”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed for two nights with our two young children. Location wise the hotel was perfect being within walking distance from Brockenhurst, but also being right in the New Forest.We had an excellent room with a small second bedroom for the children. The reception staff were very welciming and helpful. The swimming pool was excellent for children, and there was a good fitness room and sauna. The bar area was very comfortable, and the children could eat here. The breakfasts were excellent - particularly the full English breakfast and the smoked haddock. The only slight disappointment was the dinner. On the first evening the starter and main course (the partridge) were nothing special. However, on the second evening we had their signature dishes (pigeon and pork) which were execllent. The hotel was excellent for children. the only slight puzzle was why children could choose from the children's menu in the restauarant, but not in the bar area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

We do strive to be one of the best four star family hotels in the area and it's great to hear that we 'ticked' most of the boxes for this during your family stay.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal on the first night, but relieved to hear that we made up for it on the second evening.

The childrens menu can be eaten anywhere, either the bar / lounge, or the restaurant. Please accept my apologies if you were lead to believe differently.

I do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    408
    128
    84
    48
See reviews for
359
766
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this wonderful hotel. It is in the perfect location, the room had the 'wow' factor, leisure facilities very nice, food & drink lovely & reasonably priced considering 4* establishment. Best of all the staff were amazing, nothing too much trouble, it made me think why can't the staff at evey hotel treat us like this.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a complimentary review about your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I have to say that I am proud of the team that I have in place, they are all, without exception, focused on the importance of customer service, a skill that is, unfortunately, very hard to find in many young people in this day and age!

I do hope we will get the chance of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Visited last week for their 2 for 1 lunch offer. We had a superb lunch - three courses for just £10 each. I went back for their cream tea offer this week, which was also superb. I have never dined there before and will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmandsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review with regards to our lunch and afternoon tea offering at the Balmer Lawn Hotel.

It is great to hear that you will be returning, and hopefully your review will entice others to do the same!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We returned after a gap of about 20 years, having stopped there for 3 New Year breaks and numerous bank holiday breaks, we were not disappointed with their New Year break.

The hotel has been slightly changed but still retains a family / small hotel feel. We stopped on the first floor in a four-poster bed, room 14, overlooking the cricket green, ok it was not one of the refurbished rooms, which our friends stopped in and is certainly very modern and luxurious, but it was more than adequate except for the TV (difficult to use and small and so far from the bed it was hard to see) but with free WIFI we used our ipad with no problem.

We stopped before and after the New year event for £150 per couple per night for DBB, and enjoyed excellent food, wine a little expensive but it is the same in all hotels. Spa and pool were small but very adequate and the gardens , with all the walks, would make this a popular choice in the summer.

In regards to the New Year break, excellent value at £375 per couple. The theme was casino with free chips to gamble with, the winner was given a magnum of champagne. Quite a lot of guests dressed appropriately, the rest in evening suits. For the price it included a substantial afternoon tea, champagne reception (it was champagne not sparkling wine) - very generous servings, six course meal, a disco that played well into the early hours, very full breakfast and late checkout.

Overall would recommend a stay and I will return again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your stay with us at the Balmer Lawn over the New Year.

I'm pleased to hear that you had to chance to view one of our newly refurbished rooms so you can see the high standard that we are aiming for with any new refurbishment work.

This New Year we have decided on a Masquerade Ball, which will make it that much easier for everyone to get involved as much, or as little, as they'd like!

I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel for another New Year party, if not before!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed at the Balmer Lawn for many years now and although there have been changes in that time the underlying feeling of "coming home" still exists every time we walk through the door. General Manager Kara Birrell and her staff immediately welcome you to their wonderful family hotel, well behaved children and dogs are made welcome. Either eat in the large lounge bar area with a log fire or fine-dine in the restaurant both provide amazingly good food. The surrounding New Forest provides great walking, cycling or driving with plenty of ponies, donkeys and deer to keep even the most challenging children amused for hours and if you're lucky you may get glimpses in the autumn of the local pigs out foraging for beech mast, and they are a hoot!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyleisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn Hotel.

I'm really pleased to hear that you found us to be the 'welcoming country house hotel' that we truely endeavour to be.

We look forward to welcoming you 'back home' again in the near future!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
4.0 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
12.1 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
8.4 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
5.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing